Wonder Boi Writes

Trails Merge Book Launch

Last night I had a book launch for Trails Mergeat Wishberry here in Fredonia.

It was a small event, and I knew virtually everyone in the audience, which was both nice and nerve-wracking.  It was nice because it led to a very casual atmosphere, and I really liked that.  People gathered around on couches and arm chairs and got cozy while I read my first scene.  I realized about a paragraph into the section that it wasn’t the section I had planned on reading (oops!) but it still worked.

200902281843091

Next I took questions, which was a little weird at first because I talk to most of those people at least once a week, but I was really into their questions.  Since the group was made up largely of academics, I didn’t know what to expect, but they asked some great questions and I fell into a nice authorly groove.  I hope I came across as authorly, anyway.

View From the Crowd

Finally, I gave them a choice as to what scene they wanted me to wrap up with, a sweet one or a sexy one.  They actually talked it over, which was a first for me, but in the end they went with the sexy scene (no audience has ever chosen the sweet one).   This was where the nerve wracking came in.  I actually stumbled a few times when I read, because in the parts where I normally look up and make eye contact, I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  I just can’t look a friend in the eye when I say “nipple.”

It was a fun event, and I had a great time.  I hope all my friends did, too.  It was really cool to get the first Trails Merge signing kicked off with such a laid-back and supportive group!  Just look how into me Simon was 🙂 

200902281838342

 

 

 

 

 

 

(P.S Thanks to his daddy for taking all the pictures)

Now, I’ve got a few weeks to recoup and recharge, and then it’s on to Chicago!

March 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I just can’t look a friend in the eye when I say “nipple.”

    hehehe

    It sounds like a fine evening, Rach.

    Comment by bobbi | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sweetie, from a very old dyke, it sounds like you did just fine! In fact, I’m sure you did.

    Now, I’m old enough to be your Mom, so trust me on this one…….

    Hugs, Gin

    Comment by Gin | March 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

