Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play

Hey all,

I’ve been thinking about the weekend play all week.  I had several songs in mind and had just about settled on one that I’d been playing on Rock Band this week, but then on the way home from playgroup this morning I was telling Jackson about the trip we are about to take. 

You see, this afternoon we’re headed to Iowa for a wedding, then we’ll be driving down to the small town in Illinois that Susie and I grew up in.  Next weekend we’ll drive to ISU to meet up with friends from college before heading on to Chicago (more on that later).  It’ll be a big road trip into the heart of the Midwest.  I was explaining all this to Jackson and telling him about the small town and the corn fields and the places we come from when this song came on the radio. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6ytq9LzN-I

I promise not all of these weekend plays will be country or even so very Midwestern, but “Where I’m From”  seemed to fit the moment. It certainly fits the road trip, and it fits the book I’m writing right now.   I especially like line “They give their children Grandmother’s maiden name.”  Jackson is Jackson Justice because my grandmother’s maiden name was Justice.

See, it just fits.

Have a good weekend folks!

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

