Wonder Boi Writes

World Baseball Classic

Last weekend the Spangler family headed up to Toronto for the World Baseball Classic.   Those of you who know me know how I feel about baseball. Those of you who don’t know me are about to learn.

Team America/Team Canada

Team America/Team Canada

I am not ashamed to say that I got a little misty as I sat in the Sky Dome (Roger’s Centre) watching Team America and Team Canada take the field.  I was explaining to Jackson that baseball is a game that brings the world together to compete without bombs, violence, or even very nasty nationalism.  It’s a beautiful game of skill and art, where one player can be a hero, or he can be bouyed by his brothers with the sum becoming greater than its parts. 

I was thrilled to have to opportunity to share such a cool experience with my wife and son (as well as our friend Todd and Jackson’s friend Etta).

Rach and Jack at WBC

Rach and Jack at WBC

 

You see, I gave birth to Jackson with moments like this one in mind.  I want to instill in him an understanding of what it means to depend on team work, a connection to something bigger than himself, the ability to care for something he cannot control, and love of the game.

There will be other games, perhaps even more important games that my family and I will share over time, but this one seemed a fitting early experience for my boy because it showed baseball at its finest, and on a world stage.

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

