Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play

I promised that the weekend plays wouldn’t be all country and I’m going to make good on that now.  Your play for this weekend is Bruce Springteen’s “Dancing in the Dark”

I heard this song a few days ago when I’d been staring at the same paragraph for two hours without feeling a single spark of creativity.  The Boss told me “you can’t start a fire without a spark.”  and much like him I was “sick and tired of sitting around here trying to write this book.”    I just love the line, “They say you gotta stay hungry, Hey baby, I’m just about starving tonight.”

When I write, Springsteen is a staple of my music repertoire, I basically wrote Learning Curve to Born to Run and Thunder Road. Glory Days is fitting for the section I’m moving into now for my next book, and Born in the USA is just flawless, but some days, there’s no getting around it,  I’m just Dancing In The Dark.

So here you have, “here’s the joke, here’s the wine, and it’s on me.”

March 27, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

