Wonder Boi Writes

Good Friday

No happy Weekend Play today. Today I am observing Good Friday. I understand not everyone who views this blog will share my faith, but to me it is essential to every part of who I am. Mother, wife, student, writer, lesbian, all of these roles are practiced with an understanding of my life in Christ, so in sharing myself with you, I am called to share my faith.

For those of you who know the story of Good Friday, it’s easy to become desensitized to what we’ve heard our whole lives. For those of you who don’t know the story it’s easy to brush off something that happened 2000 years ago as irrelevant. I know I often need a reminder that we cannot have the joy of Easter without the agony of Good Friday.  

This is an old video, but it’s still the most compelling reminder I’ve found of what I need to be focused on today.

April 10, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. There’s a delightful seeming incongruity in having Ray Boltz’s song and video on your blog … I haven’t thought of this song in quite a while, but I did get stuck in a Stephen Curtis Chapman k-hole the other day and had to drag out “The Great Adventure” CD … now I just need to stay away from Wayne Watson and Twila Paris and I might make it through the day without any serious critical self-reflections about my life from 1990 – 1995 …

    Comment by Will | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. I know right? Saddle up your horses, we’ve got a Trail to Blaze. I’m in a “secular” free zone until Easter as far as my music goes. I’ll have to do SCC next. I’m on Michael W. Smith right now.

    Comment by rachelspangler | April 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

