Wonder Boi Writes

Hell Freezes Over

Well folks,  I had suspicions this was happening for a few months now. Ever since American elected a black president, I started to wonder if maybe some pigs somewhere had taken flight.  Then a few weeks ago Iowa legalized gay marriage, with no way to over turn it for at least a few years, and I started to get the feeling that people in hell were getting ice water.  Now, though, I am certain that the unthinkable has happened, hell has frozen over!  I just saw that Dr. Laura Schlessinger has changed her position on gays and lesbians.  Now, granted she doesn’t come out in favor of gay marriage or gay adoption, but she used to say that gays and lesbians were a gateway to pedophilia, so I just about keeled over when I saw this transcript from Larry King Live.

KING: So, you favor marriage between a man and a woman, but you applaud the fact that even people of the same-sex can have that kind of commitment to each other.

SCHLESSINGER: I’m very big on human beings finding love, attachment and commitment and being faithful to it, because there’s more to benefit when there is real true commitment and faithfulness to it. I still believe, as just every president has, and all the people who ran for office, that marriage is a sacrament between a man and a woman. So not calling it marriage works for me. But that two people would have that sort of commitment to me is very healthy and very positive thing in their lives and society as a whole.  That’s a beautiful thing and a healthy thing.

A beautiful thing?  Wow!  I’m a little terrified.  You see, I often make my decisions about issues by finding out what people like “Dr.” Laura think about them and then believing the opposite.  It’s a system that had really worked out well for me until now.  It’s worked so well, in fact, that I am starting to wonder if I should believe in commitment between gays and lesbians.

In the meantime, it’s time to clean the winter clothes out of my closets, and I’m thinking about sending those extra sweaters to all those cold folks in Hades.

April 20, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

