Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play – With insider info :)

My writing is moving right along now (knock on wood).  I had a major breakthrough, with Susie’s help, and we were able to map out the last few chapters of the book.  I now know how this is going to end, and I’m very excited about the direction my characters have taken me.  It’s been a long and winding road, and their message has evolved over the course of the last six months, but we can see the light at the end of the tunnel. 

It’s funny because to get over that hump I talked about last week, I needed something new, a new song, a new image, a new motivation, but now as I enter the home stretch I find myself going back to the beginning, back to the songs I had listened to in November when I started these things.  It’s like I’ve come full circle, and this back to the basics sound track has been a strong reminder for me that while Beth and Raine/Rory may have gone off on their own quests, we were ultimately able to keep their essence the same throughout this journey. 

One of those songs that has recently come back to the forefront in force is John Cougar Mellencamp’s “Small Town.”  It sums up so many things for me and my characters, who are quite literally struggling with their love/hate relationship with their “Small Town.”    No matter what they have faced, good and bad, they both would identify with the line  “I cannot forget where it is I come from, cannot forget the people that love me.”

As if the connection to my character wasn’t reason enough to share this song with you, I found another little interesting connection on youtube when I was looking for a video to post on this blog.  The embedding function was blocked on all the official videos, so I dug around through some user creations and stumbled on a compilation made using images of the area around where I grew up.  The towns shown in the video are all within an hour of my hometown, and Jerseyville is where my wife, Susie, lived when we started dating.  She also lived in Jacksonville, and our dentist was there.  Alton was where the nearest gay bar was located, and we also spent many a night at the pool hall in town.  This video is very much comprised of the type of “small town” that I’ve spend the last six months writing about. “I used to daydream in that small town, another boring romantic that’s me.”

April 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear you’re in the home stretch on the book – what a great feeling!

    Comment by Carsen Taite | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Rach, glad your week went well and your muse kept muttering.
    Thanks for the video, it reminded me of the town I was born into (about 500 people including surrounding farms).
    Mate we didnt even have a take away shop nor a hairdresser. GAsoline was pumped from home tanks and as there was no service station. We had to drive over an hour to the nearest regional town.
    Yes good memories.
    Dev

    Comment by devlyn67 | April 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

