Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play – Unplugged

It’s been another decent writing week for me, not as great as the last two, but I’m still trucking along.  I think it’ll take about three more chapters to wrap it up, and I’d like to do one a week until it’s done.  Of course I probably just jinxed myself by saying that 🙂

This week, my characters are in love, though they are still to scared to admit it.  I am enjoying writing some light-hearted moments amidst the angst and anguish that had plagued them both over the last few chapters.  I am also getting some pretty strong mental images of these women, how they look and how they look at each other. 

One such look was through Raine’s eyes when she want to pick up Beth, who came bounding down the stairs looking ever so beautiful, and Raine just can’t keep her usual aloof composure in the face of a woman that has the power to make her question everything she used to hold true.  A song line sparked in my mind.  “The screen door slams. Mary’s dress waves / Like a vision she dances across the porch as the radio plays /Roy Orbison singing for the lonely. / Hey that’s me and I want you only. / Don’t send me home again. I just can’t face myself alone again.”

The song is “Thunder Road,” a Bruce Springsteen classic (that I listened to constantly while writing Learning Curve). The version I hear in my head, though, is from Mtv’s Unplugged with Melissa Etheridge.  It’s a slow version, and I think it fits the lyrics and the intensity of the song better.   It taps into a lot of reoccurring themes in my writing:  second chances, redemption, taking chances, and challenging old ideas.  I hope it strikes a chord with you, too.

May 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. How exciting for you Rachel to be nearly finished. By the time this book is released I will be beside myself with excitement, like I’m not already derrrrr!
    Dev

    Comment by devlyn67 | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am glad you’re nearly finished. I am a big fan of your writing. An added bonus is the Melissa/Bruce clip. I remember this show and have always wished they sold the video/cd of this event.

    Comment by Susan | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. WOW! Thank you for pulling out that video clip! Two of my favorite artists, especially live. I’m glad that these are some of the people still inspiring folks.

    I hope you had a truly great reading this weekend-any chance that you will be able to make the Philly reading after all?

    Comment by jeanine | May 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

