Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play – Travel Update

Hey all,

Not a lot to report in the way of writing.  We were on the road, and I never write well if I don’t take a set chunk of time.  In fact, I didn’t really plan to write at all.  We had a blast with the T’s playing Rock Band, checking out the sites around Raleigh, and meeting up with Georgia Beers and her lovely partner Bonnie for dinner one night.  From there, we headed to Greenville to see our Baby Daddy for Mothers’ Day.  He cooked an amazing feast of fried chicken, ham, mac ‘n cheese, carrots and three different deserts.  We then spent the next few days hanging out, singing show tunes, and generally enjoying each other’s company.  There was also a super cool reading there with Georgia Beers and D. Jackson Leigh, but that will get its own post.

Given all the fun we had, it really is amazing that I even thought about my manuscript, but on the of good things about staying with Big Papi is that I get to hear tons of great country classics.  He plays Tammy, Dolly, and Dottie, as well as newer ones like Kathy Mattea and Mary Chapin Carpenter. Then of course there’s my personal diva, Reba.  Now some of you may not know this, but Reba pretty much brought me out (emotionally, not physically ;))  Well we listened to so much Reba one afternoon that I just HAD to write.  I was able to write a sweet scene where my characters were able to share a tender moment before their worlds tilt again (It’s a romance, folks. Things have to get complicated).   I really enjoyed tapping into some of my old loves in order to help my girls explore their budding romance. 

It is damned near impossible for me to pick just one Reba song, as, well, I’m obsessed, but this is a classic that I played several times while writing, so it’s a good choice for this post.

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. My personal favourite is Dolly but I can see how you would like Reba.
    Are you home again yet? If not safe travels for the rest of your holiday.
    Dev

    Comment by devlyn67 | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL Dev, you can never go wrong with Dolly! And We’re home safe, thanks.

    Comment by rachelspangler | May 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

