Wonder Boi Writes

Fun Weekend Play

It’s been a pretty productive week, but it’s also been a bit of a drag.  I finished a really big chapter, one that brings to a head the major conflict of the book, and I started another one in the angst-ridden aftermath, and they are very strong scenes if I do say so myself.  The only problem is that they are both pretty heavy and quite tiring to write.  The next couple of scenes are going to be the same way, and it’s starting to wear me out.  I really have to put myself in the mindset of my characters to do them justice, so writing this part of the manuscript can be exhausting.

On top of the writing I’ve also had a sick kid over the past few days.  Jackson came down with scarlet fever Tuesday night, and the poor boy has been just miserable.    We had two sleepless nights followed by fussy and restless days where he was too sore to even swallow.  I hurt me so bad to see him in such pain and not be able to do anything about it.  Thankfully he’s starting to feel better today, and we even got some sleep last night.  Our prayers appear to have been answered, but we’ve all got a long way to go before we’re rested and back to our old selves again.

So, with this kind of a week it would be natural to go with a depressing song, right?  Well, I just don’t have it in me.  I need a pick me up, and I’m going to give you all one too.  The song for this weekend is “One in Every Crowd” by Montgomery Gentry.    It’s just a fun tune about the person who always brings the party.  It would be just the kind of song Dick Harder would shake it to.  “A good time Charley, with a Harley, whiskey bent and Hell bound.”

I particularly like the line “well he’s a big mouth, yellin’ hey play some ‘Free Bird,’ says give me three steps and nobody gets hurt . . . then he takes off his shirt”  I mean, not that I identify with that or anything.  🙂  I also enjoy “he’ll bum a light and steal your girl, then laugh at you for gettin’ all upset.”  We all know that person (some of us are that person) and we’re lucky we do or else how else would we unwind after a killer week like this one?

There’s one in every crowd . . . and it’s usually me.

May 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Perhaps you should have chosen Kenny Rogers’ “Scarlet Fever” as the song for the week …

    Comment by Will | May 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

