Wonder Boi Writes

Weekend Play – Writing Update and More Travels

I thought about using Willie Nelson’s “On The Road Again” as the weekend play because I can’t believe we’re headed out on another trip.  It seems like we just got home, but it’s time for one of the big trips of the summer for us.  We’re in Illinois for a few days with the family and then on to Louisville, Kentucky for the Advanced Placement Reading, where Susie will be scoring Advanced Placement exams. 

Trips like this can be a lot of fun, because we’ll get to see lots of friends and family, but they are also stressful because we’ll be away from home for so long.  Thankfully, we’ve got a great pet sitter so we don’t have to worry about that, but my writing routine will be wrecked.   It’s hard to lose my mojo at such a crucial point of the novel (the last chapter). 

Luckily, my muse was with me this week and I was able to write a pretty big chunk in which my characters had their fair share of agonizing, and one of them had what I like to call her “come to Jesus” moment.    It was a big scene to get off my chest, but then again they’re all big scenes from here on out.  I had the goal of finishing by June 1st, and it doesn’t look like that’s going to happen, but I promise you I’ll try to be close. 

In the meantime, as I visit my hometown, an area very similar to where my book takes place, I find that the soundtrack to my trip and the soundtrack to my novel are merging nicely with many songs fitting both myself and my characters.  One such song has been with me off and on since I started writing the book, so I thought it was about time I shared it with you.

“Who Says You Can’t Go Home” By Bon Jovi and Sugarland was a major inspiration as I began processing the characters of Beth and Raine.  The opening line–“I spent 20 years trying to get out of this place. I was looking for something I couldn’t replace. I was running away from the only thing I’ve ever known.”– fits Raine perfectly.  I hope you enjoy it while you wait for me to actually finish this book.

May 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

