Wonder Boi Writes

Editing Update and Weekend Play

G’day all,

With the manuscript done, you think a boi would get a break, right?  Wrong.  I’ve jumped right into editing this week.  I need to shave approximately 10,000 words off my manuscript and didn’t see any whole scenes that were begging to be cut, so I had to do it the hard way.  I started from the beginning and worked my way through the entire thing looking for the nitty gritty.  Contractions were substituted, filler words deleted, and mundane dialogue tags were slashed.  For instance, a sections that once read

“I am broke and totally exhausted. Why don’t we stay in? We can put on some music, light some candles, throw on our pajamas, and veg out,” Raine said flatly.

“Veg out?” Ali’s brows crunched together in frustration, drawing attention to the sharp contrast between their dark color and her bottle-blond hair.

“Yeah, we can talk . . . or not.” Raine wrapped her arms around Ali’s very slender waist. They should have been the same height, but Raine was barefoot and Ali was in heels, adding a few inches to her stellar legs.

Ali softened slightly under her touch, but didn’t melt for her the way she had in the past. “You used to take me out.”

Now looks like this . .

“I’m broke and exhausted. Why don’t we stay in? We’ll put on some music, light some candles, throw on our pajamas and veg out.”

“Veg out?” Ali’s brows crunched together in frustration, drawing attention to the sharp contrast between their dark color and her bottle-blond hair.

“We can talk . . . or not.” Raine wrapped her arms around Ali’s slender waist. They should’ve been the same height, but Raine was barefoot and Ali wore heels, adding a few inches to her stellar legs.

Ali softened under her touch, but didn’t melt for her the way she had in the past. “You used to take me out.”

It’s a tedious process that cuts a few words a paragraph, and I have to be careful to cut only filler words and not hack anything that actually adds to the story, but after my first pass through I’ve shaved over 8,000 words from the manuscript.  My editor will be even more brutal in her first pass and will probably cut at least that much again.  The manuscript is also currently in the hands of my three very capable beta readers who will make their own suggestions on major changes.  Editing is a long process, and it’s much more work than actually writing the novel.  This, folks, is just the beginning.

In other news, we’re home from our big trip.  We had fun in Illinois and Louisville, but it’s amazing to be back under our own roof, sleeping in our own bed, and hanging out with all our great friends.  One of the very exciting parts about coming home is seeing how much our garden had grown.   We planted in May, and we’re now starting to see the fruits of our labor.  We’ve got strawberries, and our lettuce and spinach is just about ripe for picking.  We’ve also got blueberries popping up and buds on several of our other plants.  It’s kind of amazing to watch. 

Both of my characters in the new novel grew up on farms (as did my wife), and while I’ve never had a green thumb, it’s been very rewarding to “work the land.”  We tilled the soil, planted seeds, weeded and watered.  Now we’re beginning a harvest that will hopefully continue throughout the summer.  Every time I’m out there looking over those little rows of veggies, I can’t help but sing “Country Man” (or in my case Country Boi).  I particularly get stuck on the lines, “You can’t get these kind of muscles anywhere but a farm,” or the very funny, “Don’t be a tape-player hater, Girl.  We’re groovin to Hank.”

Enjoy your weekend!

Farmer Rach

Farmer Rach

June 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

