Wonder Boi Writes

Golden Crown Literary Society Preview and Weekend Play

Happy Friday Y’all,

I’ve had a busy week, and none of it has had anything to do with writing.  My bathroom is being remodeled by my fantastic Uncle Dern Dern (He can do anything!), and Susie, Jackson, and I are getting ready to hit the road again.  It’s a good thing I got that manuscript submitted last week because we leave Sunday for Florida, where we’ll spend a few days with family on the gulf coast.  I lived in that area for 13 years as a child, and I’m looking forward to taking Jackson to the beaches I roamed as a kid.  We’ll even get to play with the little boy of one of my old friends.  I love it when things come full circle.

Next Thursday we go to Orlando for the Golden Crown Literary Society Annual Conference.  I am so excited about this event I can hardly stand it.  First of all it’s in one of my favorite places in the whole world, Disney.  Jackson is a little young for a lot of the rides, but we’re taking him to the Magic Kingdom anyway so I can use him as an excuse to act like a little kid.

Then there’s the conference itself.  There are going to be tons of my favorite authors and even more great fans there for me to hang out with and learn from.  All of sessions look amazing, and I don’t know how I’ll ever choose between them, but I know for sure that I’ll be doing a coffee chat on Thursday at 4:00 with the amazing Georgia Beers.  GB is one of my very best writer friends.  I always look forward to chatting with her, and now we’re going to do so with an audience.  That will be a blast.

Then on Friday I’ll be doing a reading at 2:30 with Gabe Goldsby, Andi Marquette, and Lee Lynch.  What a crew, right?  I think the hard part in this one will be sticking to our time limits because they are all women I will want to hear more from, not to mention they all have great senses of humor, and we’ll no doubt have trouble sticking to the script.

Saturday I am up for auction at 10:45.  A large group of authors will auction off our first dance for the award ceremony, and the proceeds will go to the scholarship fund for next year’s conference.  I am in very good company for this event, and I’m really going to have to sell myself hard here, so you won’t want to miss what I’ve got up my sleeve.

Then at 2:45 that afternoon I’ll be signing autographs and just chilling out with anyone who wants to chat.  If you’re going to be at the conference, please come by and introduce yourself.  Meeting readers is such a thrill for me.  I think of so many of you not just as fans but also as friends, so please don’t be shy.

Saturday evening is the big awards ceremony and dance.   I am beyond honored to be nominated in two categories with Learning Curve up for a Goldie in Debut Author, and Trails Merge in Contemporary Romance.  However, whether I win or not I am just giddy about the dance.  Everyone will be there, and it’ll be a chance to bust a move with all my favorite folks, and we got a babysitter so Susie will be joining me.  I haven’t got a chance to dance with my wife since Jackson was born, so I am pretty sure this will be the highlight of the whole weekend for me.

So with all this up ahead, what does one play for the weekend tune?  Well, I’m going home to see old friends, then I’m going to Orlando to party with friends and hopefully make new friends, and this is not going to be the stuffy, meet-and-greet kind of conference.  We are going to get down on the dance floor, we’re going to do cannonballs into the pool, we’re going to laugh our asses off, we’re going to party into the night, and by the time we’re done we’ll all be able to say we’ve got Friends In Low Places.

P.S. Dick Harder would be just the kind to “Show up in boots” at a black tie affair.  You never know when the cowboi is going to crash a party.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Rach,

    You NEVER need a reason to act like a kid. Don’t ever let that part of you fade. Like I’ve always said, “I may be getting older but I refuse to grow up.”

    It sounds like GCLS is going to be a blast. I’m hoping to make it next year along with P-town.

    Finally, one can never go wrong with Garth Brooks and Friends in Low Places. Great choice. Have a fun and safe trip.
    Tracy

    Comment by Tracy | July 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

