Wonder Boi Writes

Toronto Pride Reading with J.E. Knowles

I am a little behind in my post, but I wanted to tell you all about a reading I had recently in Toronto. 

It was over Pride weekend and J.E. Knowles was kind enough to set up a reading with her congregation at the Church of the Holy Trinity.  The church is a truly awesome old building, and the congregation is dedicated to social justice, in other words, it was my kind of place.  To top it off they were hosting a special pride service and the sanctuary was all decked out in rainbow colors.

PrideBanner

The place was bustling and there were a lot of non-native speakers so we had some sound issues, but the audience was great and very attentive.   I started off the reading with a selection from Trails Merge, and got my first practice holding a microphone and a binder at the same time.  I’m not gonna lie, I felt a bit like a rock start with the mic.

R2

J.E. read from her Novel Arusha (Forthcoming from Spinsters Ink).  This was the first time I’d heard anything from the novel and I was blown away.  J.E. has such a distinct voice and Narrative style that just washes your right away with it, and her southern drawl is a lovely added bonus. I cannot wait for this book to come out!

J

We had a great time seeing J.E., we got to see an cool old church, and despite getting rained on we really enjoyed visiting one of our favorite cities.   This event is certainly one for the scrap book.

J&R2

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

