Wonder Boi Writes

GCLS Day Three (Part 2)

Saturday evening Jackson and I got all dressed up for the awards ceremony and dance.  Well, Jackson only got to go to the reception before he had to go to bed, but he worked the room while he had the chance.

GCLS_2009 231

 He made sure to say hi to everyone as he ran past them at breakneck speed.   He even did a few football-style moves to get past me and MJ Lowe.

GCSL MC Awards (30)

After the little man went back to the room, I got to do a little socializing of my own. 

Reception 2

I got to catch up with some old friends and make a few new ones.

Reception 3

We got to do anything from trying on Watty’s super cool pinstripe hat . . .

Reception 5

To debating the pros and cons of presidential hair cuts.

Reception 7

We got to snaps photos of truly adorable couples like Gabrielle Goldsby and Lynda Sandoval.

Reception 11

And Georgia got to tempt me, regarding my height, one more time.  This time I kept my eyes in a gentlemanly position.  I’m a good boi, I am.

Reception 1

We were all having so much fun that we would have happily hung out in the hallway goofing around all night long, but the main event was yet to come. 

We took our seats for the awards ceremony. Ana Isa Otis got the show kicked off right, by singing our socks right off. Then the award began. I was quickly called on stage  to accept on behalf of the very well-deserving Catherine Friend, who won for A Pirate’s Heartin the Historical Romance category.  I was right back up there doing the honors for JLee Meyer and her fantastic book Hotel Liaison, which won in the Romantic Adventure/Suspense category.

After these categories, I was sure I was done for the evening.  I went back to my table with my beautiful wife and our wonderful friends, ready to cheer on the winners.  I was very honored to be nominated, and it was great to see my books pictured next to so many amazing works, but I didn’t expect to win and I was completely ok with that, which is why I wasn’t even looking at the stage when this popped up:

Awards 1

I was shocked when my tablemates cheered and spun me around.  They had to practically stand me up and push me towards the stage because I couldn’t process what was happening.  When I got to the podium, I began to babble anything that ran through my head.

Awards 3

I don’t have any idea what I said,  I remember saying that there must have been an accounting error and then seeing Karin Kallmaker in the audience and then gushing that my heroes were in that category. Then I bumbled through something about not telling my readers were wrong because I didn’t want to seem ungrateful.  I am told that I remembered to thank my publisher and said nice things about my amazing editor, Shelley Thrasher.

Awards 4

I hear I also thanked the readers and the GCLS, which makes me very happy. Most importantly, though, I thanked my awesome wife Susie. Without her, Lord knows where I would be, but I certainly wouldn’t be on that stage.

Then I flopped into my seat ready to call it an amazing night.  When the category of Debut Author came up, I was once again happy to see my book pop up among the nominees.

Awards 5

This time Susie made me pay attention to the announcements, and my friend Gabe Goldsby was holding the envelope, so I was extra thrilled when the name she read was mine.  I laughed my whole way to the stage because at this point everything felt so surreal.  I remember hugging Gabe real tight and then getting to hug my friend and inspiration, Lee Lynch, who just means the world to me.

Awards 6

Then the babbling began again. This time I remembered to thank the Trail Blazers who made it possible for us to tell our stories openly and proudly and included Lee among them.  And I thanked my wife again because as I mentioned earlier it really is all her fault.

I was a giddy wreck when I made it back to my table, and since the awards were almost over I thought the emotions would begin to lighten, but the GCLS had one more surprise to get to me.  In the best moment of the entire night they gave the Trailblazer Award to Lee Lynch.

Awards 7

I have never minced words about Lee Lynch, and I won’t start now; Lee is a great American hero.  I hold her in the highest esteem, and it warmed my heart to see her get the recognition she so richly deserves.  Without Lee Lynch and her work, I would have never been able to write a character like Aston Clark, and I thank her greatly for giving the that opportunity.  I am not at all ashamed to say that I shed a few tears when as I listened to her accept the award.

Awards 8

No matter how many books I write or how many awards I win, I will always consider this one of the most fulfilling moments of my career, and I thank the CGLS for making it possible.

With business out of the way, it was time to get our party on!

Dance1

Jen Wright and I were gifted to each other after the auction, and we had a lovely first dance, that is after we decided who should lead (she did, and did a great job).

After the first dance I took my wife on a spin around the floor, which was a lot of fun.  I love to dance with her, and we hadn’t been able to do that since Jackson was born (because of exhaustion or the lack of a baby-sitter).   He was back in the room with a Cheri Crystal’s wonderful daughter by the way. We didn’t just chuck him 🙂

Awards 10

I also got asked to pose with my Goldies and gladly complied.  Every time I looked at them, I’d get loopy all over again, as is evidenced by my biting them to prove they are real.

Awards 12

I danced well into the night with anyone and everyone who would join me.  Gabe and I Electric Slided all over the place, and of course I danced with Georgia as per Bonnie’s instructions 😉

Dance 1

(Yes, my collar is popped there. Don’t judge.)

The crowded thinned as the night went one and blended into the wee hours of the morning by some us who just refused to go home 🙂  There was a large conga line that wound around the dance floor for as long as our awesome DJ Andi Marquette kept the music pumping.

Finally we got cut off and I floated back to my room, wondering how on earth I’d ever be able to leave this magical place.

August 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. What can I say but thank you and be careful on those slopes, we need you, Rachel.

    Comment by Lee Lynch | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Congratulations Rachel !
    I totally agree with your award
    You got a great potential and I’ m looking forward to all your books

    AND Lee Lynch is my hero too
    I’ m so happy for her award, her beautiful couple and for her new book in october.

    Thank you so much to both of you.
    A French and faithful reader

    Comment by marie | September 3, 2009 | Reply

    • You are a faithful reader, Anne-Marie! I hope you are well and happy.

      Comment by Lee Lynch | September 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hello Lee !
    Yes, it’s me !
    I’ m well and happy, thank you
    Happy because I know that you are too
    I follow you everywhere on the net.
    So many photos and Amazon Trail !
    It’ s great !
    But I’ m too shy to often post a comment.
    Thanks to Rachel for loving you and awakening me.
    Thanks to you for everything you’ re sharing with us and your new book. ( I can’ t wait !)
    Congratulations to you and Elaine.
    Anne-Marie

    Comment by marie | September 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

