Wonder Boi Writes

Rachel Preaches and Weekend Play

Hey all,

This has been a long, full week of writing, editing and cleaning my house.  I will eventually get back to those day-to-day experiences.  Trust me, you’ll get more than you ever care to know about the plot, character, and settings of The Long Way Home, but today I am going to take a little diversion because this has been a full week of politics for me, and with today being September 11, you just can’t avoid looking at the bigger picture.

If you are anti-liberal or simply uninterested in pesky little things like moral imperatives or common curtesies, then feel free to check out now.  This type of blog is not for everyone, and I respect that.  However, this is my blog, and I get to write what I want.

I am an American. That word has stuck in my throat over the last 8 years.  I have not been proud of my country, I have not been proud of my government, I have not been proud of my fellow citizens.  I have been saddened by rampant racism, sexism, and homophobia that infiltrate daily discourse.  I have been appalled at the arrogance with which we’ve approached the global community.   I’ve been horrified at the way we’ve used the tragic deaths of our citizens and soldiers to justify atrocities to other countries’ citizens and soldiers.   Mostly, though, I was sickened by the fact that my questioning of these things somehow made me un-American.    To me, the worst part of the last 8 years was that by thinking critically and expecting basic moral consideration, I was accused of betraying  my country and the victims of September 11.   The conventional thought was that if you were not racist, anti-Muslim, anti-immigration, and pro violence that you were a bad American.

No more, folks.  We can no longer afford to give into the myth that it is un-American to be willfully ignorant as evidenced by the Presidential address to American students.  No longer is it okay to allow national debate be ruled by racism or temper tantrums like we saw in Congress this week.  No longer can we allow the legacy of September 11 to justify the slaughter and repression of another nation’s people, as seen with the pull back of troops in Iraq.  This is a new America, this is my country, this is our future.

As for the weekend play,  I hate the idea that people from the country have to be racist rednecks, so here’s a country singer, Brad Paisley, welcoming us to this bright new future  by saying “every day is a revolution” and singing the verse that made me pull over the car and cry.

“I had a friend in school/ Running back of the football team/ They burned a cross in his front yard/ For asking out the Homecoming Queen/ I thought about him today/ And everybody who seen what he seen/ From a woman on a bus/ To a man with a dream/  Hey, wake up Martin Luther/ Hey, Glory, Glory, Halleluia/ Welcome to the future.”

The video won’t imbed due to copyright issue, but please trust me, it’s worth clicking on the link for this one.

Welcome to your weekend, and welcome to the future.

September 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Well said!

    Comment by Carsen Taite | September 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

