Wonder Boi Writes

Big Announcements and Weekend Play

Hey all,

It has not been a good week for writing. Between our trip to Missouri (which we survived), getting back on schedule (which we haven’t) and preparing for Ptown (which is just starting), my word count for this week sits at zero. But fear not, my faithful friends and readers. This week was anything but unproductive. I have some very big developments to tell you about.

 The first piece of news is that Trails Merge is going to be translated into Spanish! I could not be more excited about this. Many of you know how much I love anything Spanish. Spanish is my second language (or language 1.5 because I’m not really that great with it.) Spain is also a “spiritual home” of sorts for me in that I feel a deep connection to that land and its people ever since visiting in 2000. In fact, the book I am working on now is set in Spain. So stay tuned for more information about the Spanish version of Trails Merge forthcoming from Editorial Egales .

The second bit of info for you is that we’re just a week away from Women’s Week! I am going to be in Ptown October 15-18, but events will be taking place that whole week. I’ve got two readings and a signing, and Dick Harder will be making an appearance at the drag show as well. Please check out the events section of the website for more information on times and locations as well as links to the full Women’s Week schedule. This is one of my favorite weeks of the whole year (Really, it tops most major holidays). Cape Cod is stunning, and the welcoming atmosphere of Ptown just can’t be beat. When you throw in so many great friends and fans, it’s a phenomenal mix. I hope you’ll be joining us, but if you can’t then I hope you’ll stay tuned here for lots of pictures and updates.

My final big announcement is that I have been asked to teach an Introduction to Romance Writing class at the Fredonia Academy. The academy is part of the life-long learning initiatives at SUNY Fredonia and is open to anyone. The course will run October 27- December 3 on Tuesday and Thursday nights from 6:30 to 8:00, and it will cover basic aspects of romance writing. I am in no way claiming to know everything there is about romance writing, but I am the only one in the area with any experience in this genre, and I am happy to share what I’ve learned with aspiring novelists. You can register for the class by contacting the Office of Life Long Learning and Special Programs at (716) 673-3177. If you are in western New York or know of creative writers who are, please pass along this information to them.

My master’s degree is in education, and I had initially thought about teaching as a career. The love of my life is a teacher, and many of my greatest role models are teachers. Carrie, one of the main characters from Learning Curve is a teacher, and Raine, from the forthcoming The Long Way Home becomes a teacher. I think it’s safe to say I have a have thing for teachers, and now I am just giddy at the thought of teaching a class myself. Seriously, I am so excited about this that sometimes I lay awake in bed at night  just thinking about it, and when I do, I get the same refrain running through my head, and that’s how we’ve come to the “play” for this weekend.

Enjoy!

October 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Hola Rach

    Me pongo muy contenta cada vez que leo que te gusta tanto España y que hablas tan bien el español. Estoy deseando escuchar tu acento. Me encanta que te traduzcan. Ojalá puedas venir para presentar el libro y les algun fragmento ¿Te imaginas? No te preocupes. Te ayudaré con la entonación. A mi me encanta leer en voz alta.

    Ahora, mira tu por donde, tendrás a una española en ese sitio que tanto te gusta. Espero que este año sea uno de lo que recuerdes con más cariño en el “Cabo del Bacalao”

    Carmen

    Comment by Towanda | October 3, 2009 | Reply

    • LOL Carmen, creo que eres mi apoyo más importante en español! Gracias! Yo no hablo español muy bien a todos y estoy seguro de que mi acento es terrible. Sin embargo, me gustaría leer la versión traducida de pistas de mezcla en España algún tiempo. Estoy tratando de hablar de Catherine amigo en una gira Lesfic de España en 2012, así que nunca se sabe.

      Gracias por leer y por todo tu apoyo!

      Comment by rachelspangler | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL – Hot for Teacher – you totally crack me up!!

    Comment by Elaine Mulligan | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hola otra vez,
    Me encanta que pienses que soy tu apoyo en el español. Cuando me necesites, ahí estaré amiga! Esa Catherine Amigo que mencionas es la autora de “La Perla Española”? Lo he leído, sabes? Creo que te lo había dicho ya. Lo curioso es que me estaba sintiendo un poco incómoda al leer sus comentarios sobre la España contemporánea y cuando viaja en el tiempo a través de la cueva, me cautiva tanto como las mujeres que vivían en aquellos palacios de los emires, príncipes y sultanes. Me divertí mucho. Creo que también de eso se trata, ¿no?

    Espero que cuando vengas con “la Amigo”, me dejes enseñarte mi tierra y pruebes nuestros pintxos (las tapas vascas) y nuestros platos deliciosos.

    Luego te escribo un correo electrónico (email)

    Un abrazo,
    Carmen

    Comment by Towanda | October 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

