Wonder Boi Writes

Challenging Week and Weekend Play

Hey Folks,

This week has been the opposite of last week.  Instead of a wonderful but unproductive week, I’ve had a shitty but prolific one.  I set myself the challenge of writing 10,000 words before Ptown (10 days),  and right now I’m sitting at 8,100 with three full days to go.   It’s amazing I’ve managed to be so productive with so much crap to distract me.

The shitty part has come mostly in form of the Cardinals’ playoff losses, which I don’t want to talk about, I don’t want to think about, and I certainly don’t want to joke about.  For those of you who are not sports fans, you cannot understand the pain and helplessness I’ve felt this week.

However, those of you who are writers will know that while none of us seek out agony, we do have a natural and productive coping method for it.  So this week I have poured my pain onto the pages.  It has actually been rather convenient, especially in the past two days as I’ve work on a gut-wrenching scene involving my teenage protagonist putting herself  into a scary and dangerous sexual situation.  It was hard to write, but my own roiling emotions gave me the fuel I needed to dip into her psyche and not sugarcoat any of it.  Honestly, I’m not sure I could have chosen such a hard road under happier circumstances.

That being said, I am now exhausted.  Writing scenes like that require me to give so much of myself to the character, and it takes a mental and physical toll on me.  I wrapped up the scene sweaty and achy and shaky.  I had to go take a shower to literally wash the residue off me for the day, but it’s not over yet.  My next scene is going to be much less gut-wrenching but much more heart wrenching as the story comes to an emotional apex.  Think back to being a teenager and how if felt with you reached the breaking point of confusion, failure, awkwardness, dejection and self-loathing, and you’ll know what I mean.  Then of course the Cardinals have one more game to lose, and even though I know it’s coming, I will not be able to stop myself from believing, and I’ll have to deal with that emotional train wreck.  Plus there are all the things I have to do to get ready for Ptown, and while the trip itself is going to be a real life saver for me, the logistics of preparing to take a toddler on a trip of this scale can be a bit overwhelming.

So in order to celebrate my writing progress and recharge for the days ahead, I am going to shut down the darkness for a few hours, go to dinner with some friends, play with some kids, and play a fun song to start off the weekend.  For just a little while, let’s all allow ourselves to go “Barefoot and Crazy.”

P.S. That’s Jack Ingram – I like him lots. If you do too, support the artist and buy the CD.

October 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Can’t wait to read the final project. Wishing I could get over to P-town. One of these days…

    Comment by Carrie | October 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

