Wonder Boi Writes

Ptown Part 1

We got to Ptown early on Thursday, and after a quick stop in to see our friends the T’s, Gabe Goldsby, and Lea Santos, we headed for commercial street. 

Pa152769

Commercial street runs the length of Ptown and is like a special world of its own.  During Women’s Week it is also filled with some of my favorite people in the whole world.  Everywhere I turned I ran into friends, colleagues, and readers all eager to hug and get caught up.   It is also the only place in the world where I’ve been stopped on the street to sign an autograph 🙂

PA152796

As you can see above, Jackson has a few fans in Ptown too.  He enjoyed showing off his dinosaur overalls to Trish.

After a trip to The Pig, where we ran into a few more friends and authors, Susie took Jackson home for his nap and I headed to a BSB reading at the Vixen.  The first panel consisted of intrigue writers and featured (from the left) Carsen Taite, VK Powell, Ann Laughlin, Kim Baldwin, Xenia Alexiou, Clara Nipper, and Ali Vali.

PA152799

As usual, everyone was stellar, and Carsen did an extra special good job at moderating as well as reading from It Should be a Crime.    VK used her sultry southern accent as she read from Suspect Passions.  Kim and Xenia did a great tag team reading of an intense episode of Thief of Always. Clara did a sexy and funny selection from Femme Noir.  Ali totally made my day by reading a sweet but tense scene  from Blue Skies.  (Just a reminder that you can get all the wonderful books from this reading in paperback or ebook form at www.boldstrokesbooks.com)

After that panel the audience got a little break and some trivia before a group of Paranormal authors took to the stage.  Hmm that’s reads strangely. I didn’t mean to imply that the authors were paranormal, or did I?

PA152803

Nell Stark moderated the panel beautifully and led off with I. Beachum, who was reading for Colette Moody and did a bang up job in her sexy British accent.  She was followed by Trinity Tam reading a gripping scene from the newly released Everafter.  Then the boss did her very first reading as L.L. Raand for her forthcoming urban fantasy novel The Midnight Hunt.  Last but certainly not least was Gill (as in Gillian, not gills like fish have) McNight did a fantastic job of reading from Goldenseal in her lilting Irish accent.

Seriously, with all those super cool accents, I started to wonder how anyone could stand to listen to a simple Midwestern boi like myself.  Thankfully, I didn’t have to read that day and got to spend my time sitting between two of my favorite people.

PA152812a

That is to say, they were my favorite people before I arrived at the BSB meet and greet that night.  I wasn’t even in the Vixen for 15 minutes before they busted out an evil trick on me. PA152812a1 They called me up in front of the whole crowd and gave me a hand-held fan with an embarrassing childhood photo of myself on one side and a caption that read “When I grow up I want to be . . . ”  Then when you flipped it over on the other side it had a picture of drag king Dick Harder and said “…a Cowboi.” 

Not only did they have one printed up for me, they had printed up enough to hand around to everyone at the event too.  Even my son had one!

securedownload

Everywhere I turned all night long I was being asked to sign one of those fans, and I tell you what, that would have been enough to mess with a boi’s ego if I hadn’t been surrounded by so many awesome readers and fellow authors. 

This was the first annual BSB meet and greet and Toni, T, Connie, Lori and everyone else involved did a stellar job of putting it together.  The place was packed, and it was wonderful to see so many of the people I love in one place.  There was food, drinks, book signing, and even some air hockey, though Jackson may have monopolized the table a bit.

pa152812b

While there wasn’t really a dance floor, there was some music being played, and Jackson took the opportunity to teach Lisa Girolami a few dance moves like this one.

pa152812d

I don’t know where he gets that extroverted streak from 😉

I can’t even remember all the people I got to meet that night, but I enjoyed every minute of it, and the time just few by.  Before I knew it, the event was over and I was off to transform into Dick Harder. 

Dick Harder, as some of you may know, is a drag king who has the habit of showing up in Ptown without his pants, and this year was no exception.  He slid out on stage in his  class=”hiddenSpellError” pre=”his “>tighty whities to the sounds of Bob Seger’s “Old Time Rock and Roll” a la Tom Cruise in Risky Business.

pa152812d1

Dick got a warm reception and was bolstered by the huge section full of BSBers who were all waving their fans from the meet and greet.  He danced and gyrated his way around the stage, even jumping into the audience to bump and grind among the crowd. 

After his number he had to wait in a very small space backstage, squeezed in with Dirty Steve and Juan A. Nother, who looked an awful lot like Jenny McNulty and Mimi Gonzalez.  Aside from being hilarious, they were also Dick Harder’s personal leg warmers.  When they felt how cold Dick’s legs were from being bare in the breeze for so long, they both started rubbing them vigorously. That alone was better than any prize Dick won that night.

pa152812e

But he did also win first place!   The winner was determined by audience applause, and it was good fun to see those fans from the BSBers all pop up again.   Dick Harder is proud to say he has some of the best fans in the world.

By the time the show wrapped up it was after midnight, and everyone was crashing from all the excitement of the day, but we didn’t have long to rest because in a few short hours we’d get back up and start all over again.

October 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

