Wonder Boi Writes

Nano Time! (and weekend play)

Hey all,

I know I still have two more Ptown recaps to do, but today’s blog is going to be about a more immediate topic because Nano starts Sunday!  If you are already in on this adventure, please go to www. nanowrimo.org and friend me (rachel_spangler). For those of you who are unfamiliar with National Novel Writing Month, or Nano as we call it, the project challenges writers to produce 50,000 words in 30 days.  They call it 30 days of literary abandon, some people call it crazy, some people call it grueling, and they are all correct, but it is also an extremely productive way to write.  When you are writing towards such a lofty goal in such a short period of time, you don’t have the luxury of  second guessing yourself or playing solitaire or fixating on finding the perfect word.  Writers block is not an option; neither is procrastination.  You have to WRITE RIGHT NOW.

Last year I participated in a NaNo and “won,” meaning I hit my 50,000 words.  Those 50,000 words (or about 41,000 of them after editing) turned into the first half of  The Long Road Home, the novel you’ve all been hearing about for the last few months. Lord only knows how long it would’ve taken me to plow through the first half of a book on my own, but I know for sure it would have been longer than 30 days.  While not everything I wrote was perfect, or even made it in to the final draft, the act of writing without reservation was a tremendous jump-start for me.

So, with last year’s success under my belt, I am going to give it another go, but this time I am going to do things differently.  Instead of starting a novel, I am going to finish one.  My current manuscript is sitting at about 30,000 words, and I anticipate it taking about 50,000 more to finish.  I have really hit a wall with this project over the last few weeks, and I need to kick on through and get this novel into my publisher’s hands by the start of the new year, and if I don’t do something drastic, that will never happen.  Between Jackson’s birthday, a major conference, a trip to Illinois, and Thanksgiving, there are 101 excuses as to why I don’t have time to write,  but with NaNo I have a goal, a plan and a massive support system of fellow writers to keep me on task.  Most importantly, I  have a sense of pride and relief to look forward to on November 30th when I get to type “The End.”

The gauntlet has been thrown down: 50,000 words in 30 days.  Who’s with me? 

See you brave and bold souls Sunday at www.nanowrimo.org, and in the meantime here’s your weekend play, because if Madonna and JT can save the world in 4 minutes, then certainly we can write a novel in 30 days!

October 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. nano. oh yes. I’ve been doing it since 2004. It’ll be fun to do it together.

    Comment by watty | October 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

