Wonder Boi Writes

El Fin

That’s “The End” in Spanish for those of you who don’t speak the language. 

I just finished the first draft of my fourth novel.  It’s still not edited, proposed, or even titled, but in so many ways this is the end.  The story is written, the characters developed, and the conflict resolved.  It’s a strange feeling.  You’d think I would be overwhelmed with happiness, but I’m really not.  I do feel a great sense of accomplishment.  I am proud of my work and of myself.  Tackling a novel is never easy. It’s work. It takes dedication and focus, and when I manage to do that I still feel like it’s quite an achievement.

Still, it’s kind of lonely here on the other side of the end.  These girls have been a huge part of my life for four months now.  I have wrestled with them, cried with them, laughed with them, and fallen in love with them.  So many of my waking hours have been spent with them, and for reasons I’ll go in to later, this main character has been more in my head and heart than any other I’ve ever written.  The mental conversations have been a constant in my life for months, and now the silence is more than a little disconcerting; it’s actually kind of lonely.  I miss these women already.

Still, I think it will ultimately be productive for me not to want this story to end because in so many ways El Fin is not the end here.  First of all, this book more than any other I’ve written shows potential to become a series, but that’s a whole other post entirely.  More immediate solace can be found in the fact that finishing the first draft is just a first step in the process.  I will now enter several intense rounds of edits.  The first part of this process will allow me to be almost as close to my characters as I have been over the past few months. I will do my own major comprehensive second draft, refining the characters and syncing up aspects of their personalities that developed in the later parts of the book, working on a consistent narrative voice, and ensuring plot continuity.   If possible I am going to get to know these girls even better.

So, tonight I will bask in the warm glow of my accomplishment, but I won’t drown in my loneliness, because while my connection to my characters is changing, it is not disappearing.  As with so many things, every end is really a new beginning.

In the meantime, here’s your very first sneak peek into the inspiration I used during this novel.  This is Miguel Bose’s “Sevilla.”  A big thanks to Carmen (aka Towanda) for introducing me to this song and this singer. I’d have never written this story without it.

November 27, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Rach, estoy muy orgullosa de haber contribuido en el proceso creativo de tu novela. Cuenta conmigo siempre para lo que quieras. Eres muy especial para mi. Si quieres que sea tu beta reader, lo sere. Un abrazo, Carmen / Towanda x

    “y el corazón que a Triana va,
    nunca volverá
    Sevillaaaa “

    Comment by Towanda | November 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Si se Claro que quiero que usted sea un lector beta Carmen, yo no podría haber hecho esto sin ti voy a necesitar tu ayuda para terminar. Espere a escuchar de mí en unas dos semanas,

      Comment by rachelspangler | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Congrats on reaching this milestone!

    Comment by Carsen Taite | November 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

