Wonder Boi Writes

Song-A-Day December 21: Tender Tennesse Christmas -Amy Grant

We’re here in small town Illinois now.  The tree is up in my parents’ house, my mother-in-law is making preparations for Christmas Eve.  The town square is aglow with Christmas lights. Childhood friends are popping in to share seasons’ greetings, and family members are offering hugs and welcomes.  Many of you know I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with my hometown (see the forthcoming The Long Way Home), and trips back here fill me with a mix of joy and dread.  However, for the next 6 days there is no place in the world I would rather be.  Not the beaches of Spain or snowy slopes of the Upper Peninsula, not my dear ole ISU or my own cozy Western New York abode.  “Oh you know I wanna be home.”

While I’m not exactly in Tennessee, the song “Tender Tennessee Christmas” by Amy Grant still captures the feelings I’m feeling now.  “Where the love circles around us, like the gifts around our tree.”

December 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

