Wonder Boi Writes

Muhlenberg College and Weekend Play

Hey All,

I know I didn’t post a blog last Friday, but I have a good excuse.  I was on the road visiting with some wonderful readers.  The family and I headed off to Muhlenberg College in Allentown, PA for a reading/publishing presentation with Radclyffe and PJ Trebelhorn.

We got there a few hours early, and Anita Kelly, who coordinated the event, gave us a tour of the beautiful campus.  I’ve been on a lot of campuses, and this one ranks right up there with the prettiest I’ve seen.  After our tour, we met up with the other authors and some very cool students for a fantastic dinner.  Then it was off to the reading/workshop.  Rad spoke first about the publishing industry and gave the students some good tips on how to get published.

Next, we each read from one of our books.  I read a sneak peak from The Long Way Home, which will be released in September. PJ read from the forthcoming From This Moment On, which sounds like it’s going to be a great read.  After hearing her read from this novel in Ptown and then again last week, I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on the full book in June.  Rad actually read as Raand from Midnight Hunt and, as usual, did a stellar job. Then we turned it over to the audience for questions.

I have to say, this event reaffirmed for me why college audiences are big favorites of mine.  The students at Muhlenberg were smart, attentive, and engaged.  They asked some great questions and sparked some enlightening conversations.  I told Susie the next morning that even though it was a long drive for us, I’d be willing to make the trip again because being around such vibrant readers really inspires me to keep writing.

On the way home, we made the trip a little sweeter by stopping in Hershey, PA where Jackson got to get all sticky with chocolate.  It really was a great trip, and one we hope to make again some day.

Oh yeah, and your song for the weekend?  What else could it be but Billy Joel’s “Allentown,” which we had stuck in our heads for the entire trip.

April 23, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Hey, Rachel, thanks for the kind words about my book. It was great seeing you again, and I had a lot of fun.

    Comment by PJ Trebelhorn | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. great blog and photos…we considered coming out to hear you…my daughter’s nearby but she decided to come home. Also, I’ve been through Hershey too…isn’t that fun…thanks for this.
    Cathy

    Comment by C.P.Rowlands | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] Muhlenberg College in Allentown Pennsylvania.  I was lucky enough to visit Muhlenberg last year (check it out here) and had such a great time that I’ve been really looking forward to going back. College […]

    Pingback by Upcoming Events « Wonder Boi Writes | November 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

