Wonder Boi Writes

The GCLS Countdown Continues

Only 19 more days before I leave for my third GCLS conference, and I can hardly contain my excitement.  If years past are any indication this is going to be one awesome weekend.  I have so many good memories from the conference and I thought I’d share a few of them with you over the next few weeks.

At my first conference I was a very young, very pregnant boi suddenly surrounded by authors I’d admired for years.  I was a bit of a nervous wreck around such famous people, and shocked to find myself welcome at tables with to the people who’s names filled my bookshelves, like Kim Balwin and Radclyffe.

I also got formally introduced to the the people who would become some of the best friends I’d ever had, like Toni Whitaker (above), Georgia Beers (below) and countless others who are not pictured here.  Those friendships have last several years now.  I’ve crashed at these people’s houses, sought their advise on manuscripts, and watched them play peek-a-boo with Jackson.

The business connections and friendships I’ve fostered through GCLS have not only shaped who I am as a writer they have shaped who I am as a person.  I don’t know of any other event where lesbian authors and readers are thrown together in such fun and personal ways, and I am eternally grateful to GCLS for providing those types of interactions for all of us.

May 14, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, that sounds like an incredible experience! It’s funny, from what I’ve heard it seems like the lesbian fiction author community is pretty close, I don’t really know of any other genre that you can expect authors to know and converse with each other. It’s fascinating.

    Comment by Danika the Lesbrarian | May 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

