Wonder Boi Writes

Pre-GCLS Weekend Blog

So I know I promised a weekend blog on my upcoming trip to GCLS, and while I generally do this on Friday, Sunday night is still technically the weekend, and since this is a holiday weekend for us in the USA, I’m right in the middle of the weekend.  Anyway, the point is, no promises have been broken in the timing of this blog.

My last two weeks have been filled with a hodgepodge of car drama (it’s totaled but we’re fixing it anyway) and Pampered Chef parties (two more weeks to place your Fathers’ Day order) and starting a new novel (the old one wasn’t speaking to me the way this new character was).   With all that going on you’d think I’d barely have time to think of GCLS, but actually that’s what’s kept me sane through it all.  Every day when I’d sit down to study for or write my presentation, I’d get this giddy little tingle of excitement in knowing that at the end of all this I was going to get to hang out with some of my favorite people in the world.

You see, when it comes down to it, I’m still a lesfic groupie at heart.  It doesn’t matter how many books I write or how many pretty awards folks give more or how often I chat casually with a writer I admire. I still get starstruck. It’s easy to let those feelings get overwhelming and give into the temptation to hang back.  I can guarantee you at some point in the upcoming week I’ll think all of these things.  “OMG, Lee Lynch is sitting right next to me,” or “Did Karen Kallmaker just smile at me?”  or “Is Kate Sweeney really joking with me?” or “Is Lynn Ames really giving me a ride?”    You see, it doesn’t really matter if I’m an author, because at the heart of it we’re all at GCLS because we’re readers.  First and foremost it’s the stories that brought us together, and that common thread not only acts as a great conversation starter, it also levels the playing field and makes for instant friendships.

So if you by any chance happen to find yourself saying something like, “Is that Rachel Spangler leaning against that wall looking ever so dashing?”  please come over and say hello. Odds are I’m feeling just as starstruck in that room as you are 🙂

Oh yeah, I owe you a song, right? I heard from a few of you who missed that on the last blog. On a side note to this post, I’m going to see Jennifer Knapp on Friday in Orlando (e-mail me if you want info on that) and I’m totally digging her new CD right now.  If you dig it, please go buy it or buy tickets to the show.  Support the Sisterhood!  They talk a bit at first, which is cute, but the song starts at minute mark 2:30.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9ane4EbgfQ

May 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Love your columns – anytime you want to crash at our home the door is open – can’t wait to see you at GCLS – The first time I met my internet BFF Toni was at GCLS 2006 so it will always have a place in my heart.

    Comment by Lainie | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great blog, Rachel! Thanks for all you do – and have done – to make GCLS such a success. It’s people like you talking it up that brought in so many new faces this year.

    Next year, we GOTTA have a lunch or dinner together! Let’s get it on the calendar.
    Lori

    Comment by Lori L. Lake | July 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

