Wonder Boi Writes

Meet Beth -Weekend Play

In an earlier post about The Long Way Home I introduced blog readers to one of my main characters, Raine/Rory St. James.  If you missed that blog, you can check it out here.

Now it’s time to meet our other protagonist, Beth Deveroux.  When I started writing this novel, Beth wasn’t as clear to me as Raine was.  Maybe that was because Raine’s an extrovert who demands attention while Beth is an introvert who likes to work quietly.  Maybe Raine’s angst was just so epic that Beth’s underlying insecurities got overshadowed.  Likely the fact that Beth is a femme played a role as well since femmes in general are one of life’s great mysteries for me.  Whatever the case was, I felt like The Long Way Home was Raine’s story.

That’s not to say I didn’t like Beth.  On the contrary, I love her.  She is exactly the kind of woman I fall for in real life.  She is feminine, family oriented, loyal, easy to talk to, sweet, and easy-going.  She’s also one hell of a sexy farmer’s daughter, all grown up to be a librarian.  That’s fantasy material in my world.

The quintessential girl next door, Beth didn’t push me around or bowl me over.  Beth took her time with me.  She was steady, always there, waiting patiently, diligently, giving me enough support to move the story along when I asked her to.  She fed me good lines at the right time.  She showed me sweet, and she showed me forgiving, she showed me grace and understanding while I duked it out with Raine.  Then one night Beth showed me a little bit of sexy.  The next morning she was in church.  She showed me friendship, and she showed me strength, then she showed me a little more sexy.  Beth showed me passion for her surroundings,  she showed me charm in easing tensions, she showed me fire and fortitude when pushed too far.  Then finally, when the time arrived for her to take the reins fully, she showed me all of those things combined.

Beth is a real country girl. She doesn’t need to be flashy or loud.  She’s content to wait quietly in your periphery, and she won’t show you all her cards until she’s ready for you to see what’s she’s got, but once you do, you’ll never overlook her again.

I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Beth, and I hope you’re looking forward to meeting her too.

August 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I’m totally ready to meet both these women! Can’t wait for The Long Way Home.

    Comment by Carsen Taite | August 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. That’s a great cover, very cool. Thanks for the peek. When’s the release?

    Comment by wordsofbarrett | August 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks Carsen and Jeanne – September 1st release!

    Comment by rachelspangler | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Sounds wonderful, Rach. I’m looking forward to reading it!

    Chris

    Comment by Chris Paynter | August 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

