Wonder Boi Writes

Ptown Part 1

I know I know, I’m a bad, bad blogger.  I haven’t written to you lovely readers in weeks, and I can give you all kinds of excuses, but none of them are great, so I’m going to jump right back into the stuff you came for:  A full Ptown recap.

We had a full week in Ptown for the first time ever, so there is a lot of cover, but let’s put first things first and talk about why we got to be there for the whole week.  As Jackson put it to everyone we came in contact with for a week, “Lee and Laine gots married!” That is, Lee Lynch and Elaine Mulligan, two of my favorite people and an all-time awesome couple, tied the knot on the first Sunday of Women’s Week, and there was just no way I was going to miss that.

There ceremony was just beautiful, as was the bride and her butch. Elaine was stunning as her dad walked her in, and the look on Lee’s face when she saw her was just priceless. Lainie’s “I do” could be heard all the way down the street, and when Lee fought back her tears, every butch in the place was left staring at their shoes for fear the emotion would overwhelm them too.  When the officiant declared them married, well let’s just say it was an event I will cherish for the rest of my life.

For Jackie, the highlight came a few seconds later when her got to throw birdseed at the newlyweds, which he considered cool enough to warrant putting on the stiff shirt and tie we’d insisted he wear.

That afternoon we barely got checked into our little yellow house and put Jackie down for a much-needed nap when I had to head off to BSB’s first reading at the Vixen.  I got to see Rad’s whole spotlight and the start of the authors’ panel but needed to slip out early to meet the fast ferry at Fisherman’s Warf.

Will came in on the ferry (insert gay joke here), and I had a great time showing him a little bit of Ptown on our way back to the apartment.  Jackie was thrilled to see his Big Papi, and we all headed out for our first official walk down Commercial street.  For those of you who haven’t been, Commercial is the main drag of Ptown, filled with shops, restaurants, and bars.  During the high season the place is packed with sightseers, street musicians, and artists, and during women’s week the vast majority of those folks are lesbians.  Then between each of the buildings you get a breathtaking view like this.

It’s heaven on earth if you ask me.

Monday there were no BSB readings, so the family and I went out to do a little sight-seeing.  Jackie absolutely loved the beach at Herring Cove, and there are tons of picture from there, but if you want to see them all you’ll have to friend me on Facebook.  Here’s one to hold you over, though.

We also went to the observation tower that morning, which he thought was cool.  Then after lunch we went to Head of the Meadow to look for seals.  There weren’t many out, but we did find a few in the water.  We also got to see some really impressive views from the dunes, which Jackie became fascinated with.

Tuesday it was back to work for me, though “work” in this case really means tons of fun.  I spend the afternoon at the Spotlight on Lee Lynch.

I make no secret of the fact that I think Lee Lynch is a national treasure, so I really enjoyed getting some time dedicated to her and her work.  She read a classic scene from Toothpick House (one of my favorites) and took questions for half an hour.  I know that was more time than she cared to take up, but for me it wasn’t nearly enough.

Thankfully after Lee’s spotlight we got more readings from an awesome panel of BSB authors titled “Writing Unforgettable Characters”  and featuring Kim Baldwin, PJ Trebelhorn, Carsen Taite, Yolanda Wallace, and Lea Santos.

Everyone read a scene from a recent release and took questions afterwards. As always, it was a raucous good time, with more laughter than can possibly be conveyed in a blog post.  The excitement at these events is so much fun, with readers and writers feeding off of each other, and that jovial atmosphere carried right over to Now Voyager for book signing.

I didn’t get to stay and play for long because I had to head home and cook dinner for out distinguished guests – the newlyweds.

No pictures of dinner (sorry). It was just a really wonderful time to sit and chat with friends over a home-cooked meal.  We writers are far-flung across countries and continents, and it’s so rare that we get to just sit and chat about normal things, like life and love.  Plus Will got to meet Lee and Laine and ended up totally enamored by the time the night was over. I think we may have to make that dinner a new Ptown tradition.

More to follow shortly.

October 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Great blog, Rach. I’ll look forward to the rest.

    Comment by djacksonleigh | October 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the memories! Lee is all aw shucks about your comments and beaming about the wedding day recap. Next year is dinner at our place!

    Comment by Lainie | October 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Very Nice, Rach. There have been lots of photos posted and it was nice of you to put them in context. Beaches, books, writers and a wedding…what’s not to love.

    jeanne

    Comment by wordsofbarrett | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. RACH! I had no idea you had a blog over here…

    Now I get to spend even more time reading blogs instead of doing the work I’m supposed to be doing…It was great seeing you guys in ptown. Give us a call when we need to ready the guest room for you on this side…

    vic

    Comment by Victoria Oldham | October 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

