Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs: Little Drummer Boy

Hey All,

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  That’s right, Advent started this past Sunday, marking a time of preparation for the coming holidays.  This is a time of year when so many faiths celebrate with love and hope and peace.  My family and I have already been getting into the good vibes of the season by putting up our lights and decorating our tree.  We’ve already had friends over for good fun, food, and lots of carols.   I just really love this season!

Those of you who have followed this blog for over a year (thank you!) know that last year as my gift to you great readers I played a song a day to get everyone in the spirit and to try to focus on positive energy rather than getting caught up in the rush and stress.  I got so much wonderful feedback on my 25 songs blogs that I decided to do it again this year.

I hope you’ll stay tuned for a song a day for the next 25 days, each one accompanied by a few lines of my own reflections on the song and I hope you share your own thoughts and memories with me along the way.

So without further ado I’m going to kick off these songs of the season with “The Little Drummer Boy.”  This song has always just been a cute little Christmas song for me, and I’ve always enjoyed it, but this year it has taken on new meaning that moves it up in a category worthy of being the “First Song of the Season.”

This year my son is getting into Christmas songs. He asks to listen to them on the radio and asks us to sing them for him.  He isn’t really singing a lot yet, as most of them are too new to him, but the one exception has been “The Little Drummer Boy.” He got a drum set for his birthday, and when he heard this song we explained that the little boy in the song doesn’t know what he can get for Jesus so he plays his drum for him and it makes Jesus happy.  Jackie liked that idea and said he wanted to play his drums for Jesus too, which made us very happy. Then I kind of expected for it to end with his rocking drum solo, but instead of it fading into the background of trees and lights and toys, Jackie has begun to sing the song along with us, and today over the monitor I heard him sing the whole first verse all by himself.

“The Little Drummer Boy” is my baby’s first Christmas song, and for me that makes it worthy of being my first Christmas song to share with you this year.

December 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks Rachel, for sharing this beautiful post with us. You made me cry as I was reading, It must be because of this time of the year, or because I am more emotional these days after my heart surgery or because now I take great pleasure in little things that brighten up my days. I always liked this song too, and made me remember a Christmas time when I was little (5). I love music, I always did, so I wanted a guitar that year for Xmas. Of course I didn’t know how to play it but I just loved the sound (lol, now I play guitar, banjo and a little of piano). Anyway, my brother got a drummer the year before and we wanted to play “El Tamborilero” in front of our Belén, as we get presents on January the 6th and this was Xmas Eve, I just went into the main daning room and opened a beautiful showcase where mom kept her best China, I took out the biggest bowl I found, went to the kitchen to get 2 spoons and run into our living room with all my treasures. Why nobody saw me in the kitchen, today is a mistery to me, must be they were busy cooking dinner. Sooo… Carlos, (my brother) and I just sat in front of the Belén singing and playing The Little Drummer Boy (“El Tamborilero” in Spanish). Of course the precious bolw broke into pieces before the 2nd verse (still don’t know how I didn’t get hurt) with all the noise my mom rushed into the living room, I started to cry feeling guilty so did my brother, and mom just hugged us and said: “Things can be replace, my babies not. I heard you singing to little Jesus and I think He liked the song but Maite, next time you want to perform something put your ski suit on, even the boots. Ah! and only plastic is allowed to play with!. Now go to your rooms and call Nana to help you get dress up for dinner”. I told Nana I was big enough to dress up alone, so I did. And guess what? that night I sat on the table in my best ski suit, hat and boots and nobody said a word cause I rembered my mom it was Xmas Eve and after dinner we would sing lots and lots of carols. Today on Christmas Eve my mom still makes fun of me about that night. Hope I didn’t bore you to exasperation. I just wanted to share with you a bit of my childhood and memories. Be patient with my English, I’m trying hard to learn. Thanks again for all the love you put in your work and sharing with us. God Bless you and your family always. Maite.

    Comment by Maite de Tapia | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Rachel, and Maite for sharing such lovely stories of family, connection, and making beautiful memories that stand the test of time. These are the things which indeed strengthen the heart.

    I paraphrase…’Be Ye encouraged (of strong heart), and be thou not dismayed, for the Lord thy God is with thee.’

    Have a wonderful holiday season, and thank-you for kickstarting mine!

    Mercedes

    Comment by Mercedes | December 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

