Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs: Christmas Time Is Here

This song was requested by one Ms. Georgia Beers and I agreed to post it partly because Georgia generally gets what she wants where I’m concerned, but mostly I thought she was talking about a different song.  One just called Christmastime (By Michael W. Smith), one that has a message of faith, about finding the true meaning of Christmas admit all the noise and rush and presents.  That sound would have fit perfectly with the themes of this audio advent blog.

That song, however was not the song Ms. Beers requested.  The song she requested didn’t really fit at all.  There’s nothing about, G-d or angels, or peace on earth good will to men.  It’s just a song that lists all trappings of Christmas from the secular cartoon of Charlie Brown which I hadn’t watched in at least 15 years.  So, I’d been putting off this blog, trying to think about how I’d handle my first allusion to Santa, and sleigh bells. I knew I was going to have to do it, because, like I said, GB generally gets what she wants, but I wasn’t sure how.

Then last weekend in North Carolina, gathered with friends and family for a small celebration with food and music we all sat down to watch a Charlie Brown Christmas.  Jackie was in enthralled, and his interest sparked my own.  I cuddled up to really watch the movie and when this scene played, I knew I’d found what I needed.

So there you have it.  It was a long way around to this song, but I think it was worth it.  I hope all of you do to.

December 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

