Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs: “Baby It’s Cold Outside.”

So while I just absolutely love Christmas, one of the things that always strikes me about this time of year is that so many people of faith are celebrating so many wonderful things.  I’ve already posted about my family sharing Hanukkah with friends, but I also have several really great friends who celebrate Solstice, the shortest day of the year, and the return of the light.

I know that the birth of Christ likely didn’t take place in December and that the ancient church picked this time to purposefully conflict with or usurp the pagan traditions, but I’ve always found the connection to carry much more poetic connections than the old men in big hats ever intended.  I really love that while I am celebrating the Light of Heaven coming to the world long ago, my friends are celebrating the return of the light, right here and now.

So happy Solstice, light and life to all of you!

And as someone who really, really, really loves winter, I thought that this would be a nice, fun, gayed-up tribute to the turning of the season.

December 21, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

