Wonder Boi Writes

Should I Stay or Should I Go?

So I’ve been writing the start of a new book for a little over a week now. I’ve got a great first chapter and then some. I’ve got an awesome sound track, and a pretty good idea of where I want to go.  It’s been fun, its been sexy, its been going really well, and the characters have totally been speaking to me… that is until a few days ago.

Now all of  a sudden I’m not only NOT hearing those characters, I’m hearing a completely a different set of them.  These characters are fun too, and they come with their own built in sound track, and for once I see them almost as clearly as I hear them. Oh yeah and I’ve got a full outline for the first half of the book.

How is it that my muse can be utterly silent for months on end then all of the sudden she starts telling two stories at once?  And more importantly what’s a boi to do about it?  Trying to write two books at once is like trying to date two women at once:  it can be done, but rarely done well.  So do I dance with the one who brung me?  Or do I simply have to follow the muse where she’s leading me at the moment?

No really – you tell me.

April 15, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. My muse likes to take extended vacations too. I say follow her where she’s leading, cause you never know how long she’ll stick around! 😛 plus it’s never a good idea to offend her. I’d accept what she’s offering now and see where it goes! You can always come back to your first idea later, right? 🙂

    *~Merry~*

    Comment by Merry Shannon | April 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

