Wonder Boi Writes

My Big Website Question

I mentioned in my last post that I’d be trying to do a better job with my website, and as you can see I’ve made some changes in the layout. I think this helps put the focus on my books, which I think is a good thing.  I’ve also updated my bio and my events pages.  I know that you fine readers have a lot going on in your lives and a lot of entertainment outlets to choose from, so when you make the choice to come visit me here on the web, I want to make sure you can find what you’re looking for.   I’ve taken some steps to insure that the info here is accessible and easy on the eyes, but that only helps with the information I actually know to provide. What I can’t do on my own is intuit what kind of stuff you’re looking for. So that’s my big question for today:  What do you want to see on an author’s webpage?  What features are you looking for when you search for an author for the first time?  What kinds of things will keep you coming back? Lay it on me, folks!

July 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Hey Rach, your new renovation looks great! Easy to navigate and easy on the eyes–especially for those of us with impaired vision! I also enjoyed your Con recap. Wished I had asked you to bring me some (hahaha can you imagine how that would have turned out?)
    Keep up the good work!
    Barrett!

    Comment by Barrett | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. HI Rachel – I usually go to an author’s site because I want to find either a particular book or what they have written. Your layout’s great – all your books are right there, with a good description. The only other things I’d want are prices and a link to other retailers, like B&N and Amazon. (I try to buy direct from the distributor but money’s tight and sometimes I can get a better deal if I’m popping for two or more books at Amazon or B&N.) Looks marvelous. Best, Baxter

    Comment by Baxter Clare Trautman | July 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. I like to see a bio for the author and then where I can see them in person or buy their books.

    Comment by Barbara Ann Wright | August 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

