Wonder Boi Writes

Ptown: Day 1

Ptown is a magical place, and writer or not, I have a hard time putting into words what the place means to me.  I, like generations of artist before me, feel an inexplicable pull to that tiny town by the sea.   I am just one in a long line of pilgrims who pass through Ptown, but each time I make the trek I feel a renewed surge of energy and emotion.  While this trip was shorter than others I’ve made, my four days at women’s week 2011 filled me with plenty of stories to tell for the next year.

We rolled into Provincetown around 2:00 on Wednesday afternoon.  Let me tell you, after hours in the car I almost cried at my first sight of Pilgrims Monument rising out of the dunes.  Slowing to a crawl along the busiest stretch of commercial street isn’t an annoyance like  other traffic jams. It’s merely a chance for me to crane my neck at familiar storefronts, breathe in the mingled scents of saltwater and seafood, and let the sense of homecoming wash over me.  This year we stayed at the Tower House on Masonic Place, right near the center of town.  Not only was the price right, the owners were very easy to work with. The condo itself is a cool collection of rooms set right on top of each other.  The ground level is a sunny little kitchen, the second floor is a cute bedroom (with shower and toilet) with a nice balcony, and the third floor is a living room with huge windows.  If you climb all the way to the top of the spiral staircase, you come to a rooftop deck that has wonderful views of Provincetown.  If you are planning a trip to Ptown, you might want to look into renting this place because you can’t beat these views.

We had just enough time to get settled in and stroll down Commercial street for a bit before it was time to head to the second annual Women’s Week wiffle-ball game.

There were so many great photos from the game that if you want to see them all you’ll have to head over to my Facebook page, but the basic gist of it was that we had a lot of fun with some really great folks.  Marianne K. Martin was the slugger of the game for sure,

but Jackie was by far the cutest player in the bunch.  What can I say. My kid knows his baseball, two-handed catches and all.

He must have learned his good form from watching this handsome boi play.

We ended up playing for over an hour, and I think it’s safe to say a good time was had by all.  The game has become a Women’s Week tradition now, and as we went our separate ways folks were already talking about plans for next year.  Really, who wouldn’t want to join a group like this?

After the game my family and I walked down to the Governor Bradford with Kelly Smith and Marianne Martin.  It’s really not Ptown until you eat some seafood, so we ordered up some scallops and lobster pasta.  The scallops were good, but the lobster alfredo was freaking amazing.   Plus the wait staff was really great with Jackson, which is a big deal in my book since not all Ptown restaurants are kid friendly.  We all had a wonderful dinner catching up and reliving our glory on the wiffle-ball field until trouble arrived.

And by trouble I mean fun.  Nell Stark, Trinity Tam, Carsen Taite, and Ashley Bartlett busted in for hugs, fudge, and introductions all around.  While they were there chatting us up, Georgia Beers, her wife Bonnie, and their friend Steph arrived too.  It turned into a big ole love fest right in the middle of the restaurant!   We all hung out and did some quick catching up before pressing concerns like baseball play-offs took over and Kelly, Marianne, and I invited ourselves over to Georgia’s place to watch the games.

It ended up being a pretty early night since the drive and the sports caught up with me, and I crashed in epic fashion, but tomorrow was another day, and I had a lot to look forward to.

October 19, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Fantastic! Our very own on-the-scene reporter. Gotta love it.
    Can’t wait for Part Two.

    Thanks, Rachel.
    KW

    Comment by Karen Wolfer | October 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

