Wonder Boi Writes

Ptown: Day 3

Friday morning, Jackson and I wanted to give other mama some time to herself, so we sent her off to Joe’s Coffee and we headed down to the library for story time.   The Provincetown Public Library is one of our favorite spots in town.  In addition to a great kids section, they have an awesome schooner down the middle of the second floor.

After the library Jackie and I went to check out the Face-to-Facebook event across the street at the Harbor Lounge.  Jackson made the most of his time to mingle and ran straight to Aunt Georgia. After they spent some time looking at sailboats in the harbor and tickling each other, he wandered up to the bar for a drink with Lynn Ames. Not to be outdone, Mama orchestrated a few pictures of her own with Georgia and Fay Jacobs.

We could have stayed and chatted all day, but Jackie had to go take his nap, and I had a reading to get to.  It was back to the PTown library where I got to enjoy the “Who Reads Young?” Panel with ML Rice, Ashley Bartlett, Nell Stark and moderated by Trinity Tam.

They all read from releases with young characters and talked about the joys and challenges that come along with that.  They also took questions from the audience, and I think they each picked up a few new fans.

After that reading yours truly got to hop on to a larger panel with Rad, Nell and Trin, Ali Vali, Erin Dutton, Carsen Taite, Melissa Brayden, and M.J. Williams (who’d run over directly from the airport).  I was seated next to Ali Vali, which I’ve decided they do just because they know I’m squeamish and Ali writes gory stuff, but Ali was very kind and chose a nonviolent reading  just for me.  I really appreciated that.

This panel had something for everybody, and the boss moderated interlacing questions among the readings.  It was really nice to hear what so many of my friends and colleagues have been working on since I saw them last.  We had a great time reading and carried the fun right back over to Now Voyager to sign some books and chat with the readers.

By the time I got done with all my writerly responsibilities, it was half past dinner time, and I was ready to get home to my wife and son.  We spent a short break in the rain to eat outside, and Jackie showed off his Huck Finn look to anyone who happened to stroll by.

After we got the boy all bathed and put to bed, I went back out to drum up some entertainment and try to find the baseball game, but I ran to this pair of ruffians (Georgia and her friend Steph along with Bonnie, who isn’t pictured here).

They were closing down the bars and terrorizing sex toy stores, or something to that effect, and really what’s a boi to do but join in?

That concludes day 3 of 4, but the best is yet to come, so stay tuned for your final installment later this week.

November 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Great pics and stories. Can’t wait for the 4th installment. You have me sitting on the edge of my seat.

    Jackson looks like he has such a great time with all his ‘aunts’. Someday, when he is all grown up, it would be great to hear his memories of all those fun interactions.

    Comment by solargrrl | November 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. Absolutely, no one could say that little boy wants for love or attention.

    Comment by rachelspangler | November 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

