Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas: Day 18 – One Child One Day

This morning I woke up in a bad mood.  We’d been up late the night before working on trip preparations and we still had so much to do before we leave early Monday morning.  To top it all off, we had to be at church two hours early to run through dress rehearsals for the kids Christmas play.  Don’t get me wrong, normally I’d find that fun, but today I just didn’t have time.

I grumbled through breakfast and snapped at Jackie when we refused to turn off the TV.  I had to nudge him across the parking lot in the snow because my hands were too full of pampered chef deliveries to hold him, and he wouldn’t sit still long enough for me to get him out of his coat. Then he ran off without me while I hung it up. It was a mess and I was frazzled.  I just wanted to sit down and take a deep breath but suddenly Jackie came racing back out of the Sunday School room.  I barely caught him by the shirt sleeve, and said “What are you doing?”

He looked up from under the bill of his Chicken hat ( yes I said chicken hat, he was a baby chicken in the play) and excitedly said “Mommy, I just want to see Baby Jesus.”

That child.  He has the greatest way of reminding me what’s really important.

and just in case you were wondering how the Christmas play turned out…

December 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

