Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas: Day 21 – I’ll be home for Christmas

Sorry I’ve fallen behind again.  Our Hanukkah celebrations got the better of me 🙂  We’ve had a great time skyping with friends from around the country and catching up with our families now that we’re home.   Being around the people we love is without a doubt one of the best parts of this season.  It’s a blessing to be able to afford to travel, its a blessing to have the job flexibility to take time off, its a blessing to be healthy enough to make a long trip, and its a blessing to have a safe welcoming place to come home to.

This time of year I’m so aware that not everyone shares those blessings with me.  I had tears in my eyes as I read about the last of our combat troops leaving Iraq this week, that’s a lot more people having the holidays with their families, but there’s still members of the armed forces scattered across the globe.  There’s people working for organizations that promote the peace, and the health and safety of others spread around the world.  There’s also firefighters, nurses, doctors and other essential professionals who work shifts away from their own celebration because they are needed.  There’s people who can’t afford a few days off, or a bus ride needed to get home.  There are people who are too sick, or overwhelmed to travel. There’s folks who aren’t welcome in the homes they once cherished and some who have no home to go to anymore.   If you’re one of those people, I want you to know, I’m thinking of you tonight, and you’re in my prayers always.

If only in my dreams…

 

December 23, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

