Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas: Day 23 – In The Bleak Midwinter

We’re getting down to the real heart of the season and in the true sense of Advent I seek to prepare myself for the coming birth of Christ, and His rebirth in my heart, or my rebirth through that love.   This is one of those songs that transcends the material and touches something deep inside me.  I’ve listened to several versions in the last half hour and could just about cry at each of them.  The lyrics are so beautiful, I feel the timeless threads weaving their way from centuries past and into my own consciousness.

Even if you don’t consider yourself a spiritual person, take a few moments to open yourself to the beauty and magic of this moment.  Close your eyes, breathe deeply, listen carefully. Do you feel the ancient spirit pushing at your heart?

December 24, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

