Wonder Boi Writes

Let the Countdown Begin

Hey Folks,

We’re now less than 7 weeks from the full release of LoveLife, a fact I keep forgetting because I’m also 5 weeks from my wedding day, and one week from an editing deadline. LoveLife has been off my desk for a while now, and other characters have been demanding my attention.  Such is life in the slow world of publishing.  It’s easy for a story that’s out of sight to be out of mind.  However, as things in both my personal life and my professional life begin to pick up, I find Joey and Elaine aren’t actually out of my mind at all.

I’ve missed every set of characters I’ve ever written, but then another set of characters catches my interest and I’m swept away again.  The same has not been true with Joey and Elaine. I still feel their influences in my life almost daily.  Perhaps it’s that Elaine is tied to Diane for me, so I think of her often when we’re together, but there’s also Joey’s coffee-house in Buffalo that I’ve come to use as my go-to retreat when I get frazzled.  Then there’s spot in Buffalo where one of the pivotal scenes occurs that I still return to when I need inspiration, and I have a whole set of life-coaching vocabulary I learned while researching sessions, and I now employ it to frame problems/solutions in my own life.  Not a day goes by that I don’t feel their influence.

I suppose it’s fitting that the characters stay on with me even after I dismissed them.  They were never really mine to command.  I never willed them into existence.  I was working on another project when they sprang from my forehead fully formed.  I never had to drum up ideas for their backgrounds or flesh out their details. They were just there.  I’ve already posted about the strange sequence of events leading to the inspiration of LoveLife, but the magic didn’t end there.  The story poured out according to it own purpose, leaving me to feel less like a writer and more like a medium. It’s as if the moment Diane said, “Everything happens for a reason” LoveLife took on a life of its own.

Consequently, LoveLife also has its own theme song.  I always write to music, my main characters all have theme songs, and most of the stories have full soundtracks (I’ll be blogging more about this one soon), but I’ve never had a theme song for my own process until now.

The song is All The Way by Indigo Girls, and it reflects my relationship to the story, to the characters, and to the way they’ve come and stayed in my life.  I particularly love the dual imagery of the “crash course,” both in the sense of a collision and as a chance to learn sometime very quickly. With Joey and Elaine I still find myself simultaneously marveling and wondering about how “I took the crash course impact, but have I learned all that I’m supposed to learn?”

All The Way Lyrics

I wasn’t looking to shift my direction
My eyes straight ahead hands ten and two
The gravity of our first connection
Veering off the road and into you
All the people drive by slowly gawking at the scene
Of the smoldering inevitable spark and gasoline

All the way I met you head on full speed
At the heart the blue flame burns
All the way I took the crash course impact
But have I learned all that I’m supposed to learn

No amount of playing safe could save me from this day
The heat seeking path of my trajectory
Didn’t we coolly divest of predestination
Slamming into futures we can’t see
I know what can happen when there’s more than meets the eye
But there’s no way to avoid it just get in the car and drive

All the way I met you head on full speed
At the heart the blue flame burns
All the way I took the crash course impact
But have I learned all that I’m supposed to learn

It makes me laugh talking over tea
When I can still smell the smoke on my sleeve
Steaming like gunsmoke the wreckage of our past
The scene of a crime I still can’t leave
Oh you and me, we should let well enough be
But each revisitation points to clues
There’s the oil slick of uncertainty
And warning signs back there we didn’t use
At least we laugh about it now how we escaped alive
It’s remarkable the mess we make and what we can survive

All the way I met you head on full speed
At the heart the blue flame burns
All the way I took the crash course impact
But have I learned all that I’m supposed to learn

January 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

