Wonder Boi Writes

6 weeks to LoveLife – Meet Joey

In keeping with the theme of counting down to the release of LoveLife, I want to start introducing you to the main characters (and their songs) so that by the time the book comes out, my lovely blog-reading buddies will already know a little bit of the story behind the story.  Today I’m going to give you the inside scoop on Joey Lang.

Joey is the first romantic lead in LoveLife (She’s first because the book opens in her point of view). Joey is a twenty-eight-year-old, blue-collar Buffalo boi. She’s the manager at a funky little coffee shop in Buffalo, where she’s a model employee. She is her parents’ pride and joy and the best friend anyone could ever ask for. She’s athletic, a team player, a good sport, and in very good shape. She’s sweet, strong, caring, and fiercely loyal to the people she loves.  She’s also super cute, with big brown puppy dog eyes and a Justin Beiber hair cut.   The femmes among you will swoon for her. One of my beta readers said she’d give anything to meet Joey in really life. I never had any problem writing Joey, and I’d like to say that’s because she reminds me a lot of myself, but her core strengths and dashing good looks are more like what I wish I could be than what I really am.  Joey is the type of person I’d love to be.

So what’s the catch, you ask?  You know there’s gotta be a catch because a story about the perfect partner is going to be one short book.  And while Joey was always easy to identify with, she wasn’t always a fun point of view to be in. You see, Joey is shy, almost painfully unsure of herself, and not without good reason. She’s had some life circumstances that put our poor boi through the emotional wringer and left her feeling pretty unworthy of a truly special someone, someone like our other lead character, Elaine, the life coach. By the time she meets her dream girl, Joey’s trapped in a life that no longer feels like her own and buried under her insecurities so deeply she can’t even summon up the nerve to approach her.  Now you see the problem starting to form, right?

But shy-girl-lets-dream-girl-get-away isn’t really a very long story either.  Thankfully, Joey has a meddling best friend (Aren’t those the best kind?) who isn’t at all shy and makes Joey a life-coaching appointment.  Joey is supposed to go to the appointment and woo this amazing woman she’s never had the nerve to speak to.  Anybody want to take odds on what happens next?  Does our sweet, beautiful boi suddenly cast off her fears, turn into Prince Charming and sweep Elaine off her feet?  Or does Elaine figure out this young woman is in serious need of life coaching, leaving them both muddled up in a complex web of personal attraction and professional obligation?

Joey is strong and shy, beautiful and broken, choking on fear and starving for something true.  I wrote many of  her scenes to the theme song  “Hanging By a Moment” by Lifehouse.   I hope when you hear it, you’ll think of her.

“Hanging By A Moment”

Desperate for changing, starving for truth
I’m closer to where I started, I’m chasing after youI’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hanging by a moment here with youForgetting all I’m lacking, completely incomplete
I’ll take your invitation, you take all of me nowI’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hanging by a moment here with you
I’m living for the only thing I know
I’m running and not quite sure where to go
And I don’t know what I’m diving into
Just hanging by a moment here with youThere’s nothing else to lose, there’s nothing else to find
There’s nothing in the world that can change my mind
There is nothing else
There is nothing else
There is nothing else

Desperate for changing, starving for truth
I’m closer to where I started, I’m chasing after you

I’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hanging by a moment here with you
I’m living for the only thing I know
I’m running and not quite sure where to go
And I don’t know what I’m diving into
Just hanging by a moment here with you

Just hanging by a moment
Just hanging by a moment
I’m hanging by a moment
Just hanging by a moment here with you

February 3, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

