Wonder Boi Writes

Good Friday and Passover

In the past I’ve blogged on Good Friday. I’m always a little nervous about doing so here because this is mostly a work-related blog, and I can understand how some readers of lesbian fiction might be turned off by my bearing my soul on such heavy faith-based issues.  Still, this is my blog, and in addition to being a lesbian and a writer, I am also very much a Christian.  So here goes:

Today my family will observe both Good Friday and Passover.  I know some people find that odd.  There are all sorts of absurd ideas about Jews and Christians being enemies, or our faiths being at odds, and while it’s true we disagree on some very central ideas, we have far more in common than we have separating us.  We share a lineage that includes Abraham, Issac, Jacob, and Moses.  We share our holy texts and holy sites.  Most importantly, we share a belief in a G-d that is both all-powerful and all-loving.

As a Christian it is essential for me to remember that Jesus was Jewish, and he himself said “I came not to abolish the law, but to fulfill it” (Mathew 5:17).  He was celebrating Passover on the night of his arrest, and the meal we now call Holy Communion has its base in the Passover Seder.  Both the week of Passover and Holy Week are celebrated for the same message.  Both stories tell us that G-d is listening to our prayers, cares about our suffering, and will go to any length to deliver us. G-d loves us despite our shortcomings, lack of faith, or even our unwillingness to acknowledge Him in our lives.  Both Passover and Easter are stories of G-d’s boundless power, grace, and love.

So today, as I mark the passion of Christ on my facebook page, and tonight as we recount the deliverance with friends, I want to focus on those things that G-d offers all of us: hope, peace, joy, love, and of course, you don’t have to be a romance writer to realize the greatest is love.

April 6, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Well said Rachel! Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by Traci | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. Very well said. I have to admit that growing up in a very much Christian family and being Christian myself I’m very familiar with Christianity… not so much with the Jewish faith. It’s true we definitely hear a lot more about the differences than the similarities. I think I may have to do some research and educate myself on the similarities of the two faiths.

    Aideen

    Comment by Aideen | April 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

