Wonder Boi Writes

The Waiting

So LoveLife has been out for a couple of weeks now, and I’m starting to hear from a few readers, and thank you to those of you who have already sent feedback, because honestly this is a pretty nerve-wracking time for me.

You see, up until recently I had some control in this process.  I mean I wrote the book. I could make it be whatever I wanted. Well, mostly I could though the characters often went in ways I did not anticipate, but still what made it on the page was up to me.  I worried often about what would happen next, but ultimately I knew that I would take care of these characters.  I loved them after all.

Then when it came time to edit, I had to relinquish a little bit of my control, and honestly I bucked up against that just a little bit.  These were my girls after all, and I wanted to make sure my editor understood them and gave them the appropriate level of care.  Thankfully, the wonderful Shelley Thrasher and I have worked together before.  She shared her vision with me, gave me some tools to implement it and then gave me a lot of space to pull the story in line.  Ultimately, when we cut or reworked something, I still had a big say in the process.   And when it came down to it, we were largely working on my prose with this book.  My characters were just that, they were my characters.

But, now they are yours.  When those books shipped and those e-files got downloaded, you all took a certain share in Joey and Elaine’s lives.  My girls are in your heads and hopefully your hearts.  And not just yours, dear blog readers.  If it were just you, maybe I’d feel less nervous because after all, you watched them grow up. You’ve followed their history, you know their back stories, you know how much I love them.

But Joey and Elaine are also being read by people I don’t know, people who don’t know me, people who will never see this blog. Will those people take the time to really enjoy them?  Will they feel for them?  Will they get tears in their eyes or butterflies in their stomach?  Will they cheer them on?  Will they see what I see in them?  I hope so, but I can’t do anything else to help.  I can’t add any thing else or polish anything else, and I can’t explain anything else.  I can’t read over your shoulders or watch your reaction to my favorite scenes.  I have to let go and let the story stand on its own, and I have to wait to hear from readers like you.

April 20, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Well, my opinion is that this is another award winning book, it really is a good story, the characters are multi layered and loveable. I sort of hope that others get the book too as if they don’t come away feeling entertained, satisfied and wanting more like I did then they are missing part of the experience.

    Comment by Devlyn Sixtyseven | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. My copy is still wending it’s way to my mailbox, but I feel the emotion of the ‘parent-author’ in this blog. Here you go and create some wonderful personalities, send them out into the world, and you are left to wonder what will become of them, now that they are beyond your nurturing presence. No other advice or comment can be given other than I’ll bet they will do just fine. You have made them strong and resilient, and lovable. Personally, I can’t wait to meet them and have them become part of my own personal history.

    Comment by solargrrl | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Rachel Spangler posted The Waiting. […]

    Pingback by Weekly Link Round Up « The Lesbrary | April 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

