Wonder Boi Writes

LoveLife Launch Party

Last night was the official launch party for LoveLife.   It was a very fun and relaxed sort of event at a local, gay-owned bistro.  Some friends, Susie, and I got there early and had dinner. Then as other people started to arrive we just invited them to join us at our table.  Before long, we had friends, church members, colleagues, and former students all sitting around talking about writing and how to prepare for the zombie apocalypse.   I was having so much fun I actually didn’t want to interrupt the conversation by going all authorly on folks, but eventually they did demand the reading they were promised.

It felt a little weird to stand up and read to people I was just casually hanging out with, but I managed to pull together a not-all-too-shabby scene.  Well, I didn’t think it was too bad to a live reading, but you don’t have to take my word for it, because even in my moment in the spotlight, I was thinking of you, dear blog readers.  I had Susie bring the bloggie camera to record it for you.  You guys have been with me since the beginning on this one, so it’s only fair that you get to be a party of the official launch.  So without further ado, here’s a selected reading from LoveLife.

After that reading we sat around and chatted some more.  I sold and signed some books.  We had dessert.  Some folks headed out and then a few more arrived, so we chatted some more and had some more dessert.  At no one point were there more than 10 people there, but I feel like we made the event worthwhile for our hosts with the amount of beer and cookies consumed over the course of the evening.  I had a great time and was ready to call it an evening when a few of the later arrivals asked for one more reading. I tried to gracefully decline, but some felt that I hadn’t given them enough sexual tension in my first reading and demanded more.  I told them that if they wanted an actual sex scene they’d have to buy the book, but I did cave and read them another excerpt from later in the book that gave a hint of things to come.

Sadly there is no video of the second reading,  so you’ll have to, you know, use your imagination from there 🙂 And to help you out, here’s a little bit of the music I used while writing the sexy parts of LoveLife.

April 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Great job Rach! Congrats on the launch.

    Comment by Barrett | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] Spangler posted LoveLife Launch Party and Everything Is Still Happening For A […]

    Pingback by Weekly Link Round Up « The Lesbrary | May 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

