Wonder Boi Writes

Everything Is Still Happening For A Reason

“Everything happens for a reason.”  That’s the phrase that launched LoveLife. It’s what Diane Gaidry told me the first time I contacted her. (If you haven’t here that story check out here: Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3). If you’d told me all the “reasons” we’d be able to point to two years later, I would have laughed at you. Since that first contact I’ve written and published a novel, done group readings, been a position to help people I love, and made a handful of amazing friends all because of that first contact. I was recently pondering this awesome ride over coffee with Diane, reflecting on what I thought was the end of the creative journey.  LoveLife is completed and released so these days with Diane and I get together we talk about kids and dogs, blog search terms and our waistlines.  We’re settled, relaxed, connected by the memories of an adventure we look back fondly on.

Then over the course of the conversation about the directions our lives are taking now, Diane mentioned she’d always wanted to do some voice acting.  A week later I’m exchanging e-mails with Karen of Dog Ear Audio (who was introduced to me, by Georgia Beers of course) and she mentioned she was on the look out for actresses to read for them. I barely began to broach the subject with Diane when she said, “Yes, I want to do that.”

Immediately we were thrown back into that dizzying spin of creative energy. Of course my first instinct was to protect Diane, which is silly because a) she’d a grown woman with a good head on her shoulders and b) I could see from her expression that she’d already made up her mind. So despite me explaining that I had no details, and could only recommend Karen based on Georgia’s and Catherine Friend’s recommendation, but I think it was pretty clear to both of us where this project was headed. In the end I’m a go-with-my-gut kind of boi, and the connection felt pretty right to me too, so within an afternoon I’d made the introductions then stepped back to watch magic happen again.

Now a month later, with details unfolding, Radclyffe’s Safe Harbor selected by Karen, approved by Diane, (and reread by me) we’re all sitting around talking about characters, Kickstarter campaigns, and renting a house in Ptown for Women’s Week.  I’m left once again marveling at how, everything really does continue to happen for a reason.

But the best part of this leg of the adventure is that it’s not just our purpose anyone more, the circle keeps growing and now you’re part of it too.  Each of you has a chance to be part of this project, and it’s shared purpose. By going to http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1851755083/safe-harbor-audiobook-production you can help make sure this awesome adventure reaches it full potential. A donation, even as small as $1 will help Dog Ear Audio move forward, $5 will get your name on the official donor list and the rewards go up per dollar amount, all of them on top of the inherent value of being part of a great creative process. And even if you aren’t in a position to give even a dollar, you can help by spreading the word.  Put the link on your facebook, twitter, blog, or in an email to your friends, you never know what will come of you sharing the love, but if I’ve learned anything from the last two years, it’s that every things happens for a reason.

May 3, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Cool – done and done!

    Comment by Sheila | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. So cool to get the background info on how all this started. So glad to be a part of the process and I really hope it succeeds.

    Comment by Toni | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  3. So cool to get the background information. I am happy to be a contributor to the project and I really hope it succeeds.

    Comment by Toni | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  4. I am so thrilled to have been the first to sign up!

    Comment by swsaxton | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  5. […] Rachel Spangler posted LoveLife Launch Party and Everything Is Still Happening For A Reason. […]

    Pingback by Weekly Link Round Up « The Lesbrary | May 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

