Wonder Boi Writes

You All Rock!

No really.  I mean it.  You dear blog readers have blown me away for two weeks in a row, and I want to say, “Thank you for that!”

Last week I wrote a very personal piece about President Obama endorsing gay marriage simply to get it off my chest.  I’d been thinking about it for days and just needed to vent before I could move on.  I thought maybe some of you might feel the same way, but I never expect the response I got.  Over 500 of you read it over the course of the weekend and over 150 of you shared it!  It was by far the biggest day of traffic on my blog, but more importantly than that, so many of you commented here or on social media or email and shared your own stories, your own emotions, on this historic event.  I felt so honored to be part of that experience with you.

Then the week before last I reached out to you all about the amazing Kickstarter project to get Radclyffe’s Safe Harbor made into an audiobook read by my friend, the lovely and talented Diane Gaidry.  I shared the video made by Karen and Patti over at Dog Ear Audio and asked you to share it as well.  I’ll be darned if you guys didn’t run with it to the tune of $4,800, and counting.  You and your friends that you share this with funded the entire project in less than two weeks.  Once again I am so blown away by your support and generosity.

And what’s more, by reaching the project goal so quickly, you’ve left lots of time for us to use this project to reach out even further, because a big portion of any additional donations are going to go to Safe Harbor Prison Dog rescues.    It’s a wonderful organization, but you don’t have to take my word for it.  Check out this awesome video from Karen and Halley to learn more.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1851755083/safe-harbor-audiobook-production/posts

Plus of course those of you who still want to help out will get all the great rewards that come with supporting the kickstarter campaign.

When I look at the list of donors to the project or the number of shares these two blogs have gotten or read back over the comments and e-mail you guys have sent, I feel truly blessed to know you all and to be part of this amazing community of readers and writers, so today I just want to send a very heartfelt thank you to each and every one of you!

May 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. You are awesome!

    Comment by maite1015 | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank you for what you do…you are our voice too.

    Comment by mary M. perry | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. As always, a heartfelt blog with sentiments so well expressed. This is one blog I never miss. Always entertaining, enlightening, and the emotions expressed here, truly come from the heart. Thank You.

    Comment by solargrrl | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. it’s a amazing, isn’t it, the amount of people we can touch with words, even words not in books? Your blogs are lovely, so it’s no wonder you have such great readers. 🙂

    Comment by Victoria Oldham | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  5. I hope you also see that the common denominator for both things are… wait for it… drum roll … YOU, Rachel. You give a lot of yourself and your authentic voice is appreciated… and in my case, much loved. 🙂

    Gun

    Comment by Gun Bach | May 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

