Wonder Boi Writes

10 for my Twenties – Update

Try Curling

Ride A Zipline

Go To A Hookah Lounge

Go To A Drive-In Movie

Go A Whole Week Without Using A Car

Fry A Turkey

Sky Dive

Get Down to my ideal BMI (21.5)

Learn How To Tie a Bow Tie

Pay For A Stranger’s Dinner

As I am now less than one week away from my 30th birthday  its time to give you the final update on my 10 for my Twenties project.  As you can see I’ve crossed off several items in the last few weeks here.  The first was “pay for a stranger’s dinner.”  While it actually ended up being a stranger’s lunch I really enjoyed the warm fuzzies for this one.  I wanted to let the spirit guide me here so instead of picking someone myself, I went to my favorite crepe place in Buffalo one morning and just dropped off my credit card.  I told the girl behind the counter to use it to pay for the next person who came in and ordered a full meal.  Then I went and met up with a friend for awhile.  When I came back I found a lovely note waiting thanking me and saying the gentleman who’d received the free lunch was so happy he was already looking forward to his chance to “pay it forward”.

The next item to cross off was “Get down to my ideal BMI.  I’ve been slowly but steadily changing my lifestyle in ways that promote a healthy weight for just over 3 years now.  I’d been embarrassed about my appearance for years, and hated pictures of myself but it wasn’t until  Jackson started to walk, then run that I really found the motivation to make a long term commitment to getting in shape.  I didn’t want to miss out on his activities because I was unhealthy.  I learned about portion control, and calories in vs. calories out.  I went slowly, celebrating one pound at a time, and paying attention to my natural biorhythm, and then found the type of exercise I could do without totally hating them. Now three years and almost 40 pounds later I finally dropped below  my target BMI of 21.

With such a serious goal accomplished I was ready to have some fun.  I took off to Niagara Falls one morning to learn to curl.  I’ve been wanting to try curling ever since I first saw the event during the Turin Olympics.  I don’t know what it is I find so addictive, its not fast, or dramatic, but I just can’t stop watching it.  Turns out I don’t want to stop playing it either!  Despite falling on the ice several times, missing every shot for hours, and sweeping until my whole body ached, I loved it.  And then when I finally did land the perfect shot to win an end I was a goner.  I’m already looking in to going back in a few weeks!

 

Last but not least, I went sky diving!  This was by far the most adventurous undertaking of my the list and maybe of my life.  While on Cape Cod for Women’s Week I took a plane two miles up and with an instructor strapped to my back we  jumped out.  I was prepared for fear and honestly worried it might overtake me.  I wasn’t at all sure I’d be able to make myself step out onto that ledge until the time came and I really love knowing that I’m capable a taking a leap like that.  I was also expecting a rush of adrenaline, and I wasn’t disappointed.  I’ve chased some pretty big thrills and only falling in love tops the rush of free falling from 11,000 feet.  Still, I was totally taken aback by the overwhelming sense of wonder I felt when they opened the door to the plane.  There was nothing between me and the expanse of God’s creation and what a beautiful creation it is.  I jumped over the breath taking expanse of Cape Cod and I have never seen a more beautiful sight in all of nature. In the moments before my cute opened I wasn’t consumed with fear, or even thrills, I was awash with gratitude and awe for all I’ve been able to experience in my first 30 years on this earth and that was the greatest birthday present ever.

 

October 15, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. What an amazing way to end your 20’s. Congratulations on crossing off all those diverse activities. If this is how your 20’s are ending, can you imagine what the 30’s will bring? As you found out in Cape Cod, the sky’s the limit to your possibilities.
    An early Happy Birthday wish to you!! Congratulations!!……Now I just have to go find out what a Hookah Lounge is.

    Comment by solargrrl | October 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

