Wonder Boi Writes

Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving Dear Blog Readers,

Susie and Jackson have left for her parents’ house to celebrate with their side of the family.   My dad is frying a turkey to take to his sister’s house, and my mom is cooking up her portion of the feast to take in a few minutes.  Sadly, I won’t be joining any of them for any of the festivities.

I’m running a fever of 101.5 with body aches and a chest flu.  Bleck.  I’m uncomfortable, but not totally miserable, which means I feel good to enough to really be aware of what I’m missing.  I’m wide awake and lonely, missing the chance to hang out with family I don’t get to see often enough. I’ve also still got an appetite, even though I can’t taste anything, which seems a cruel punishment on Thanksgiving. 

Needless to say I’m feeling a little bummed out.  But this is Thanksgiving, and feeling sorry for myself just won’t do.   Self pity is the antitheses of this holiday, so in order to get and stay in the spirit, I’m going to make a list of all the things I’m thankful for today.  And since “30” seems to be the theme for this year, along with this being my 30th Thanksgiving, I think that’s a great number of things to be thankful for.

I’m thankful for:

  1. Jackson, the best, sweetest, cuddliest, and most fun angel of a boy I could ever imagine.
  2. Susie, after 11 years together I’m still in love with my best friend, and she loves me so much more than I deserve.
  3. For Big Papi who gave Jackie to us and continues to bring so much love to all of our lives.
  4. My church and its thoughtful, welcoming, and affirming fellowship of believers.
  5. My Godsons, Jack and Charlie, who bring so much joy, love, and playfulness to my life.
  6. My parents, who support me and care for me unreservedly.
  7. My brother, and the relationship we’ve built especially over the last few years, as well as the relationship he’s built with Jackie.
  8. My extended family, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins near and far that I could call any time and they’d rush to my side.
  9. To friends who are like family, with no limits to their love, compassion, and devotion.
  10. 10. To live in the great state of New York, especially this year when they allowed us to get legally married.
  11. For our hometown, which is both small and educated.  A great place to raise a child, build a career, and be part of a caring community.
  12. For people who give up their own comfort to make my world safer, from soldiers and firefighters to peace corp workers, human rights advocates, and humanitarian aid workers.
  13. Having the best job ever that gives me a chance to make a living telling stories that I love.
  14. For all the wonderful people I’ve got to meet through my job, from readers to fellow writers who feed my enthusiasm for the work I do.
  15. Four more years of a president and senate who care about the middle class, trust women, and affirm my family, and for my fellow citizen who voted them in.
  16. The ability to travel, all the places we get to see and all the people we’ve been able to meet along the way.
  17. Our Prius that gets us where we need to go for half the gas, which relieves our wallet and our tree-hugging sensibilities.
  18. Sports that bring me joy and bring me together with other fans across gender, race, economics, and political differences.
  19. Great schools filled with dedicated teachers, for my wife and I so that we can chase our dreams, and now for Jackie to make sure he can learn more than we can even imagine.
  20. Our house, while it seems to have a never-ending to-do list, it’s dry and warm on a safe street surrounded by good neighbors and filled with love.
  21. Access to good food, a thriving local farmer’s market a freezer full of grass-fed beef, and the local organic farmers dedicated to providing us with healthy and earth-friendly options.
  22. Good health, aside from minor inconveniences like allergies or the stray virus, we suffer no chronic illnesses and since our employer offers great insurance we have reliable access to quality healthcare.
  23. Good books, they are more than entertainment. They are education, vacation, adventure and good company all in one.
  24. The wealth of technologies (computer, phone, iPad, TV) that helps me connect with friends, family, and events all around the world.
  25. All the basic comforts I too often take for granted like clean water, safe roads, freedom of religion, free speech, heat, shelter, and so many other things people in other areas can only dream of.
  26. Access to and ability to afford skiing, which is not just a fun hobby, but also a chance for our whole family to spend time being active together, enjoying each other and nature.
  27. Music, all the different kinds that can inspire me, change my mood, express my feelings more eloquently than I can, and spark memories like the personal soundtrack to my life.
  28. Hugs.  Touch is my love language, so there’s nothing better than being wrapped in caring arms.  A good hugger is someone to be cherished always.
  29. New adventures, this year was full of them, with zip lining, curling, and skydiving.  Pushing myself reminds me to live life to its fullest every day, doing so is a privilege denied to many.
  30. Each and everyone one of your who follow this blog!

 

November 22, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. A beautiful blog Rachel. Your list helped me think of a few to add to my own list of gratitude. We do live in amazing times, don’t we? Hope you feel better soon and have a wonderful Holiday season to look forward to and enjoy with all those family members.

    Comment by solargrrl | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hope you are feeling better, Rachel. 🙂

    Comment by aemr1313 | November 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

