Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas: Day 2 – Peace on Earth/Little Drummer Boy

For today’s song I’m sticking with the theme of peace with Peace on Earth/Little Drummer boy.  I’ve heard this mash-up before, but the Bing Crosby/Davis Bowie version always seemed like an odd fit to me.  I suppose it’s still a little oddly overlapped, but in this version, Anthony Rapp and Everett Bradley’s voices seem to blend more evenly.

Honesty, when I listened to this for the first time this year I couldn’t put my finger on why it struck me so hard, but it nearly dropped me.  Tears filled my eyes and I darn near choked up, standing there in the midst of  flossing my teeth.  Maybe I was just overly emotional that day, but then it happened again.  In the car.  Just stopped at a red light, listening to this song and almost ended up sobbing.  It took me one more listen to realize it’s the same line that hits me every time:  “I pray my wish will come true, for my child and your child too.”  I think the pure simplicity of that sentiment played over the first Christmas carol my son ever sang that just drives home the wish I share with every mother world wide.  I wish so hard, with every fiber of me, that we live to see a day when men of goodwill live in peace. I pray fervently that Jackson is someday one of those men of goodwill.

And now I’m crying again.  Here, just listen to the song!

December 2, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel, I think as a parent we always want better for our children and we want the world to be a better, healthier, safer place for them to grow up in. I’m sure every generation before us has had the same dreams and I do believe, as slow as some progress comes, that each generation does their best to leave a better world for the next. Jackson and as his peers are certainly growing up in a diffferent world than their parents but I think that can be said, in some degree, for every generation. You and Susie are doing your absolute best to raise a young man who will be a contributing member of society…and a young man that will help make the difference in his generation.

    As you count your many blessings, I know that many of us feel that Jackson is a young example of what goodness llooks like.

    Comment by Beth | December 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Wow, thank you so much Beth. This made my heart swell!

      Comment by rachelspangler | December 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

