Wonder Boi Writes

Let’s chat!

Happy New Year, Friends!

I hope your holidays were safe and joyous. I know mine certainly were.  They were also busy and I’m glad to be home, though now that I think about it, things are pretty busy here too.  I’m starting edits for Does She Love You this week, and I’ve been kicking around ideas for my next project, plus Jackson is out of school, and the house is a disaster zone, not to mention all that eating right and exercising more I alway try to do in January.  It would be really easy to just forget about blogging for a little while.

But we aren’t going to let that happen, right?  You and I are going to stay in touch this year, and you are going to help me do it.  Want to know how?  You are going to tell me what to blog about!  We’ll consider it a year long Q&A.

I want all of you to send me questions about anything you’d like to see answered on this blog. We can talk books or craft or the inspiration behind my novels. We can talk about family, travel, education, or politics.  We can talk about friends, colleagues, events, and even embarrassing stories from my childhood if you want them.  I won’t say that nothing is off limits:  I won’t give you anyone’s address or secret family recipes or my personal sex life, but really you’ve got a wide berth here, so use it.

You can post questions in the comment section on this page, comment on my Facebook page, or e-mail them to me at Rachel_Spangler@yahoo.com.  Then I will compile the whole list and answer at least one of them each week.

Let’s get this conversation started!

January 4, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. thanks for the offer — I would love to know how you “start” your writing. I find myself at the rebirth of my academic research life and the blank pages are daunting. Lots to say but the start is escaping me.

    Comment by Sue | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  2. Well, the comment about embarrassing stories from your childhood intrigues me! I have plenty of those myself so reading about others helps make me feel a bit better about my own. LOL. But to tell the truth, I’d like to know more about your editing process – do you edit a hard copy of your manuscript, on the computer, a combination of both? Do you use software such as ProWritingAid (http://prowritingaid.com/Free-Editing-Software.aspx#) or your own knowledge? Inquiring minds want to know!

    Comment by Glenda Poulter | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  3. I have a couple of questions for you:
    What do you think you’d be doing if you weren’t writing?
    How did you meet your wife and have you put that in any of your books?

    Comment by Mary Anne Frett | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  4. Would love to talk about self help and 12 step programs…is healthier to leave the relationship or hang in and change yourself for the better/ when does it start hurting the kids?

    Comment by Anne | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  5. Thanks, Rachel, I think I’ll take you up on the offer! How do you juggle it all? Often times I find myself feeling overwhelmed or guilty because, ultimately, something has to give. I have a wife, a house, a family, a plethora of close friends, my “paying” job, writing, research, studying the craft to make my writing better, personal reading time…and a hundred other things. All of them vie for my attention. So, how do you choose? What do you do to fit it all in?
    Looking forward to your next publication! Keep at it!

    Comment by simplepleasures59 | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  6. As a wife, I’d love to hear more about your relationship with your wife. As a mom, I’d love to hear more about your family life and parenting. It would also be great to hear about your process of self-discovery and “coming out”. Thanks for sharing yourself and your family with your fans. It means a lot. 🙂

    Comment by Aud Mel | January 4, 2013 | Reply

  7. Let’s talk reviews. Do you read them? Why or why not? Do you find that if you do, they affect your writing? What’s your approach to dealing with positive vs. negative? I’m always interested in the different outlooks on reviews. Tricky stuff.

    Comment by Melissa Brayden | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  8. I would love to hear more of your take on spirituality. You seem to be one of the few who believe as I do that homosexuality and Christianity are not mutually exclusive. It seems like so many lesbians are atheists and so many Christians are anti-gay, I love that you can reconcile the two.

    Comment by aemr1313 | January 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

