Wonder Boi Writes

Get excited about Does She Love You

Let me start by saying I’m not done promoting Spanish Heart.  There’s more good stuff to talk about there, but today I hit a milestones that’s just too big to ignore.  About an hour ago I submitted my last major edits on my next book, Does She Love You, to Lynda Sandoval.

I’ve still got copy edits and page proofs to come, but all my heavy lifting is done. My wife saw the news on Facebook and called to congratulate me. I think she was more excited than I was.  Somehow it doesn’t feel real yet. My disbelief stems partially from how quickly it happened. Both the substantive and line edits were done in about a month instead of the 3-4 months it usually takes. However, the bigger surprise was how  tremendously easy everything went.  Lynda and I have really hit our stride together and our vision for these edits was on target from the beginning.  We also share a similar sense of humor which is essential with a book as heavy as Does She Love You.  At the start of this process she told me I had nothing to worry about, but I replied that hearing those words from an editor was akin to having the dentist tell me “this is only going to hurt a little” as he held the needle to my gums. 

And it wasn’t like we didn’t do any work, we ended up adding two scenes from the ground up and cutting huge parts of other scenes, but with lots of joking, and a shared belief in this novel’s place among my greater body of work we flew through the edits faster and smoother than I could’ve imagined.  For the first time in my career I completed edits without shedding a single tear.

We’ve still got 6 months before Does She Love You is released but now that the edits are done, everything feels closer and more real for me.  I’d like to celebrate this milestone by hopefully making it a little more real for you too, so as a gift to both of us I want to officially release the cover of Does She Love You.  I hope this piques your interest and starts to get you as excited about this novel as I am.

As usual, I’m thrilled with Sheri’s work.  She captured the mood I wanted to convey perfectly. Isn’t it wonderful?

Does She Love You 300 DPI

January 31, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. SUPER EXCITED! I still need to read Spanish Heart though! I’ve got it. You signed it for me in Ptown when I purchased it, but I haven’t dug into it yet. That has just been placed on my high priority list and I’m sure I will gush over it as I have in all of your previous books that I have read. I’m such an author junkie.. or groupie… Author hag? I don’t know. Something on those lines. Congrats to you on this and I’m very excited to purchase a copy the moment it’s available. Cheers!

    Comment by Michele | January 31, 2013 | Reply

    • You’re a super reader, and I greatly appreciate that!

      Comment by rachelspangler | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on reaching that “whew!” moment. I know how much of a relief it can be. Good for you. Can’t wait to read this one. 🙂

    Comment by Georgia Beers | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  3. Awesome looking cover. Congratulations on getting through the edits as painlessly as you did, that must make you very happy. Looking forward to the new book, although 6 months does seem a long wait. 🙂

    Comment by Beth | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  4. Yes, it is wonderful! And the cover is great! Congrats on the edits going so well.

    Comment by solargrrl | January 31, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

