Wonder Boi Writes

MaNoWriMo – Update

So last week I told about the writing challenge I issued for myself.  My wife has since dubbed the challenge MaNoWriMo (March, Novel Writing Month).

Those of you following me on facebook you get updates daily but I also promised to update you, dear blog readers, once a week about my project. I’m proud to report that after 8 days of Writing I’ve got 18,566 words on the manuscript.  Huzzah!  This is way past my expectations.  To merely stay on track for the month I would have had to write 1613 words a day, putting me at 12,904 total right now.  What this means is I am 5,662 words, or 3 and a half days ahead of schedule.  I am really proud of myself because, well, I’m kind of lazy.  I honestly expected to be playing catch up by now, it’s nice to know I can have an off day or two and not have it wreck the whole month. To be ahead of the game makes me very happy.

It also makes me kind of worried because, well, I’m lazy.  I worry that without the pressure to produce baring down hard on me, I’ll lose that fire under my ass.  I am totally the kind of person to rest on my laurels, and one day off could easily turn to 3 or 4, especially as the newness of this challenge and the story itself begin to wear off.  I do a lot of challenges in various areas of my life and I know that the second week is when things lose their luster and the third week can be deadly for motivation.  I also know that the middle of a manuscript can feel like 2:00 on a Wednesday afternoon.  You’re tired and bored, with no end in sight.

This is where I turn to you, faithful readers.  You’ve been so awesome about cheering my progress so far and I hope that will continue, but I’m also asking you to be vigilant.  Don’t let me  slip below the pace now.  Kick my ass if need be, but please help me stay to course to 50,000 words.

 

 

March 8, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. In your head, realize that that 1/3 of those words will likely be cut in editing…so, in your head, cut your word count by 1/3 and take THAT as the word count. That should keep some pressure on.

    (I’m pulling fractions out of my ass…maybe only 1/8 of the words will be cut in editing. But, go big or go home!) 🙂

    Comment by Carleen | March 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Nice Carleen. In my last book I cut about 12% right off the top in my first round of edits and that’s not counting all the ones I rewrote along the way.

      Comment by rachelspangler | March 8, 2013 | Reply

  2. Ok you asked for us to stay on your butt to keep you on track..You got it! Don’t let baseball season get in the way..Use a game or two for a treat.

    Comment by Mary M. Perry | March 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. If you’re afraid you’re going to “rest on your laurels”, then don’t do it. Write every day, even if one day is just 400-500 words–heck, even if it’s just a paragraph! Put it in your mind that you’re going to write, and you will.
    Congrats for the progress so far–what that says to this reader is you’ve got a pretty good story here, and I for one can’t wait to buy it (even if it doesn’t publish ’til 2015).
    Go, Rachel, go!
    JaneC

    Comment by J Cuthbertson | March 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

